College
column spacer
    Lavery Library Spacer Spike Subject Guides Spacer Spike American Studies

INTRODUCTION

FIND BACKGROUND INFORMATION

SELECTED PRINT REFERENCE SOURCES

FIND BOOKS IN LAVERY LIBRARY AND BEYOND

FIND ARTICLES AND MORE

FIND WEBSITES

INTRODUCTION
American Studies is an interdisciplinary field encompassing the history, politics, literature, art and popular culture of the United States. Please see related History, Fine Arts and Sociology subject guides for additional resources.

back to top

FIND BACKGROUND INFORMATION
Reference Books are located on the Main Level of Lavery Library.

Reference books provide background information to help you understand your topic, narrow your topic, or prepare an outline of your topic. They also help define terms related to your topic, provide assistance in the selection of subject terms for your database searches, and contain factual information, such as, statistics, biographies, and maps.

back to top

SELECTED PRINT REFERENCE SOURCES:

Literature and Research Guides

The American Historical Association's Guide to Historical Literature
D20 .A55 1995 REFERENCE

American Attitudes : Who Thinks What About the Issues That Shape Our Lives
HN90.P8 M58 2000 REFERENCE

Encyclopedias

Encyclopedia of American Cultural & Intellectual History
E169.1 .E624 2001 REFERENCE

Encyclopedia of American Folk Art
NK805 .E6 2004 REFERENCE

Encyclopedia of American Historical Documents
E173 .E54 2004 REFERENCE

The Encyclopedia of American Political History
E183 .E48 2001 REFERENCE

Encyclopedia of American Studies
E169.1 .E625 2001 REFERENCE

Encyclopedia of the American Religious Experience: Studies of Traditions and Movements
BL2525 .E53 1988 REFERENCE

Encyclopedia of Contemporary American Culture
E169.12 .E49 2001 REFERENCE

300 Years of American Art
ND205 .Z4 1987 REFERENCE

Chronologies

American Decades
E169.12 .A419 1900-1909 REFERENCE

American Eras
E169.1 .A471979 REFERENCE

Dictionaries

Dictionary of American History
E174 .D52 2003 REFERENCE

The Facts on File Dictionary of American Politics
JK9 .H54 2001 REFERENCE

The Penguin Dictionary of American Folklore
GR105.34 .A94 2000 REFERENCE

Handbooks

African American Culture
GN307 .D35 1994 REFERENCE

The American Civil War : A Handbook of Literature and Research
E456 .A47 1996 REFERENCE

A Companion to American Thought
E169.1 .C685 1995 REFERENCE

Greenwood Guide to American Popular Culture
E169.1 .H2643 2002 REFERENCE

Guide to U.S. Popular Culture
E169.1 .D399 2001 REFERENCE

Atlases

The Atlas of American Society
HN60 .A5 1995 REFERENCE

Biographies

American National Biography
CT213 .A68 1999 REFERENCE

Dictionary of American Biography
E176 .D56 REFERENCE

Contemporary American Women Fiction Writers : An A-to-Z Guide
PS374 .W6 C66 2002

A to Z of American Women in the Visual Arts
N6505 .K59 2002 REFERENCE

back to top

FIND BOOKS IN LAVERY LIBRARY AND BEYOND The key to the library's extensive book collection is the Library Catalog. It may be searched by Author, Title, Subject, or Keyword. Subject headings are established by the Library of Congress. If you have any trouble selecting a Subject heading for your topic, try a Keyword search or check the listings in the Library of Congress Subject Headings red books (Z 695 .L69 2001 REF) in the Reference area near the main floor computers.

Subject Headings which may be useful to you for American Studies:

United States - African Americans
United States - History
United States - Civilization
United States - Literatures
Art, American

If you would like to browse the collection, the main call numbers for American Studies and related disciplines include:

American Studies - PS
American History - D, E
American Literature - PS
American Culture - BF, BL, HQ

Circulating books are all located on the upper level.

Link to the Library Catalog from the library's home page http://library.sjfc.edu

Find books in Other Libraries by selecting Other Libraries from the library's home page.

Search the world for books by selecting WorldCat from the databases listed on the Research Databases web page.

To order a book from another library use the online Interlibrary Loan form, accessible from the library's home page http://library.sjfc.edu.

back to top

FIND ARTICLES AND MORE
Lavery Library subscribes to an extensive collection of Research Databases that may be used to search for articles on your topic in periodicals, newspapers, and book chapters. Periodicals include both scholarly journals and popular magazines. When researching for courses in your major, it is usually recommended that you use scholarly articles, also referred to as peer reviewed or refereed articles. Databases will often allow you to limit your search to scholarly articles.

If the article cited on the database that you are using does not appear in full-text on the database, check Periodical Holdings on the library's home page to determine if the periodical is either full-text on another database or available in hard copy in the library's collection.

Research Databases are listed both alphabetically and by subject on the library's home page. When starting research in American Studies, the following databases are recommended:

America History and Life
JSTOR
Project Muse
Expanded Academic
ProQuest Research Library

back to top

FIND WEBSITES

When using websites for research it is very important to evaluate their authority and content. Use the following checklist to evaluate sites before using them as references.

Evaluating Web Sites Checklist

Your liaison librarian has provided a list of quality websites for American Studies. They are available on the library's home page under American Studies.

To search for additional websites, start with Google - http://www.google.com.

back to top

Marianne Simmons
Lavery Library