College
column spacer
    Lavery Library Spacer Spike Subject Guides Spacer Spike Anthropology

INTRODUCTION

FIND BACKGROUND INFORMATION

SELECTED PRINT REFERENCE SOURCES

FIND BOOKS IN LAVERY LIBRARY AND BEYOND

FIND ARTICLES AND MORE

FIND WEBSITES

INTRODUCTION
This subject guide covers library resources in cultural anthropology and archaeology.

Back to top

FIND BACKGROUND INFORMATION
Reference Books are located on the Main Level of Lavery Library.

Reference books provide background information to help you understand your topic, narrow your topic, or prepare an outline of your topic. They also help define terms related to your topic, provide assistance in the selection of subject terms for your database searches, and contain factual information, such as, statistics, biographies, and maps.

Back to top

SELECTED PRINT REFERENCES SOURCES:

Literature and Research Guides
GN42 .W44 1998 REF
Introduction to Library Research in Anthropology

GN400 .K53 1991 REF
Cultural Anthropology : A Guide to Reference and Information Sources

GN33 .W47 1994 REF
Fieldwork in the Library : A Guide to Research in Anthropology
and Related Area Studies

GN1.A623 REF
Annual Review of Anthropology

E154.A1 B89 1996 REF
Guide to Information Resources in Ethnic Museum, Library, and Collections in the United States

Encyclopedias
GN333 .W67 1998 REF
Worldmark Encyclopedia of Cultures and Daily Life

GN307 .E527 1996 – REF
Encyclopedia of Social and Cultural Anthropology

DS56 .O9 1997 -- V.1 -- REF
The Oxford Encyclopedia of Archaeology in the Near East

Dictionaries
GN307 .D485 1997 -- REF
The Dictionary of Anthropology

Handbooks
CC70 .O96 1996 REF
The Oxford Companion to Archaeology

GN325 .L46 1998 REF
Ethnic Groups Worldwide: Ready Reference Handbook

Atlases
CC165 .A75 1998 REF
The Atlas of Archaeology

Statistical Sources
Country Studies are published by the Federal Research division of the Library of Congress. Search the library catalog by name of country. Lavery Library owns several. They are found in the book collection.

Back to top

FIND BOOKS IN LAVERY LIBRARY AND BEYOND
The key to the library's extensive book collection is the Library Catalog. It may be searched by Author, Title, Subject, or Keyword. Subject headings are established by the Library of Congress. If you have any trouble selecting a Subject heading for your topic, try a Keyword search or check the listings in the Library of Congress Subject Headings red books (Z 695 .L69 2001 REF) in the Reference area near the main floor computers.

Subject Headings which may be useful to you for Anthropology are:

Anthropology
Archaeology
[name of country]—Culture
Physical anthropology
Applied anthropology
Cultural anthropology
Forensic anthropology
Ethnology

If you would like to browse in the library for Anthropology books, the main call numbers are are: GN's for Anthropology or CC's for Archaeology

Circulating books are all located on the upper level.

Link to the Library Catalog from the library's home page http://library.sjfc.edu

Find books in Other Libraries by selecting Library Catalog from the library's home page, then select Other Library Catalogs.

Search the world for books by selecting WorldCat from the databases listed under Research Databases. From the library's home page, select Research Tools, select Research Databases, then select WorldCat from the alphabetized list.

To order a book from another library use the online Interlibrary Loan form, accessible from the library's home page http://library.sjfc.edu.

Back to top

FIND ARTICLES AND MORE
Lavery Library subscribes to an extensive collection of Research Databases that may be used to search for articles on your topic in periodicals, newspapers, and book chapters. Periodicals include both scholarly journals and popular magazines. When researching for courses in your major, it is usually recommended that you use scholarly articles, also referred to as peer reviewed or refereed articles. Databases will often allow you to limit your search to scholarly articles.

If the article cited on the database that you are using does not appear in full-text on the database, check Periodical Holdings to determine if the periodical is either full-text on another database or available in hard copy in the library's collection. From the library's home page, select Research Tools, then select Research Databases.

Research Databases are listed both alphabetically and by subject on the library's home page. When starting research in Anthropology, the following databases are recommended:

JSTOR
eHRAF Collection of Ethnology
Expanded Academic
Sociological Abstracts
SocialSciIndex

Link to Subject Listing of databases available for Sociology or Humanities and Art

Back to top

FIND WEBSITES
When using websites for research it is very important to evaluate their authority and content. Use the following checklist to evaluate sites before using them as references.

Evaluating Web Sites Checklist

Your liaison librarian has provided a list of quality websites for Anthropology. They are available on the library's home page under Selected Websites. From the library's home page, select Internet Resources, then Selected Websites, then Anthropology.

To search for additional websites, start with Google - http://www.google.com.

Back to top

Marianne Simmons
Lavery Library