College
column spacer
    Lavery Library Spacer Spike Subject Guides Spacer Spike Asia

INTRODUCTION

FIND BACKGROUND INFORMATION

SELECTED PRINT REFERENCE SOURCES

FIND BOOKS IN LAVERY LIBRARY AND BEYOND

FIND ARTICLES AND MORE

FIND WEBSITES

INTRODUCTION
This subject guide covers the history of countries in Asia. Please see the related subject guide “World History” as well.

Back to top

FIND BACKGROUND INFORMATION
Reference Books are located on the Main Level of Lavery Library.

Reference books provide background information to help you understand your topic, narrow your topic, or prepare an outline of your topic. They also help define terms related to your topic, provide assistance in the selection of subject terms for your database searches, and contain factual information, such as, statistics, biographies, and maps.

Back to top

SELECTED PRINT REFERENCES SOURCES:

Literature and Research Guides
DS835.D69 1995 REF
Japanese History and Culture From Ancient to Modern Times: Seven Basic Bibliographies

Encyclopedias

China
DS705.C35 1991 REF
The Cambridge Encyclopedia of China

DS774 .H796 2001 REF
Modern China

JC311.M54 1998 REF
Modern China: An Encyclopedia of History, Culture, and Nationalism

Japan
DS80.5.M63 1998 REF
Modern Japan: An Encyclopedia of History, Culture, and Nationalism

DS822.5 .E516 2002 REF
Encyclopedia of Contemporary Japanese Culture

HF1001 .E467 2002 REF
Encyclopedia of Japanese Business and Management

Other Asian Countries
DS31.E53 1988REF
Encyclopedia of Asian History

DS334.9.C36 1989 REF
The Cambridge Encyclopedia of India, Pakistan, Bangladesh, Sri Lanka, Nepal, Bhutan and the Maldives

Dictionaries
DS777.75.D53 1998 REF
Dictionary of the Politics of the People's Republic of China

DS740.2.H57 1992 REF
Historical Dictionary of Revolutionary China, 1839-1976

DS433.M43 1987 REF
A Dictionary of Modern Indian History, 1707-1947

Atlases
G2280.A85 1990 REF
An Atlas of India

G2306.G1.B45 1999 REF
The State of China Atlas

G2261.S1.H5 1992 REF
A Historical Atlas of South Asia

Statistics
HA4675 .M552 1998
International Historical Statistics : Africa, Asia & Oceania, 1750-1993

Back to top

FIND BOOKS IN LAVERY LIBRARY AND BEYOND
The key to the library's extensive book collection is the Library Catalog. It may be searched by Author, Title, Subject, or Keyword. Subject headings are established by the Library of Congress. If you have any trouble selecting a Subject heading for your topic, try a Keyword search or check the listings in the Library of Congress Subject Headings red books (Z 695 .L69 2001 REF) in the Reference area near the main floor computers.

Subject Headings which may be useful to you for Asian History are:

Asia—History
[name of country]—History example: Bhutan—History
Asia—In Literature

If you would like to browse in the Asian History section of the library, the main call numbers for Asian history are the D's and DS's.

Circulating books are all located on the upper level.

Link to the Library Catalog from the library's home page http://library.sjfc.edu

Find books in Other Libraries by selecting Library Catalog from the library's home page, then select Other Library Catalogs.

Search the world for books by selecting WorldCat from the databases listed under Research Databases. From the library's home page, select Research Tools, select Research Databases, then select WorldCat from the alphabetized list.

To order a book from another library use the online Interlibrary Loan form, accessible from the library's home page http://library.sjfc.edu.

Back to top

FIND ARTICLES AND MORE
Lavery Library subscribes to an extensive collection of Research Databases that may be used to search for articles on your topic in periodicals, newspapers, and book chapters. Periodicals include both scholarly journals and popular magazines. When researching for courses in your major, it is usually recommended that you use scholarly articles, also referred to as peer reviewed or refereed articles. Databases will often allow you to limit your search to scholarly articles.

If the article cited on the database that you are using does not appear in full-text on the database, check Periodical Holdings to determine if the periodical is either full-text on another database or available in hard copy in the library's collection. From the library's home page, select Research Tools, then select Research Databases.

Research Databases are listed both alphabetically and by subject on the library's home page. When starting research in Asian history the following databases are recommended:

Historical Abstracts
JSTOR
Expanded Academic
Proquest Databases

Link to Subject Listing of databases available for Humanities and Art

Back to top

FIND WEBSITES
When using websites for research it is very important to evaluate their authority and content. Use the following checklist to evaluate sites before using them as references.

Evaluating Web Sites Checklist

Your liaison librarian has provided a list of quality websites for Asian History. They are available on the library's Selected Websites webpage. Select History. Under World History, select Asia.

To search for additional websites, start with Google - http://www.google.com.

Back to top

Marianne Simmons
Lavery Library