College
column spacer
    Lavery Library Spacer Spike Subject Guides Spacer Spike Biology

INTRODUCTION

FIND BACKGROUND INFORMATION

SELECTED PRINT REFERENCE SOURCES

FIND BOOKS IN LAVERY LIBRARY AND BEYOND

FIND ARTICLES AND MORE

FIND WEBSITES

INTRODUCTION
The following is a guide to starting research in the field of Biology. It is not meant to be comprehensive. For additional help in researching Biology topics, contact the Reference Desk at 385-8141.

Back to top

FIND BACKGROUND INFORMATION
Reference Books are located on the Main Level of Lavery Library.

Reference books provide background information to help you understand your topic, narrow your topic, or prepare an outline of your topic. They also help define terms related to your topic, provide assistance in the selection of subject terms for your database searches, and contain factual information, such as, statistics, biographies, and maps.

Back to top

SELECTED PRINT REFERENCES SOURCES:

Literature and Research Guides
QH303.5 .B39 2003 REF
Biology Resources in the Electronic Age

Z699.5.B53 B56 2001 REF
BIOSIS Search Guide

QH303.6.I54 1997 REF
Information Sources in the Life Sciences

QH303.6.D38 2002 REF
Using the Biological Literature: A Practical Guide

Encyclopedias
QH302.5 .A2313 1996 REF
Concise Encyclopedia Biology

BJ63.E44 1998 REF
Encyclopedia of Applied Ethics

QH541.15.B56 E53 2001 REF
Encyclopedia of Biodiversity

QH332.E52 2003 REF
Encyclopedia of Bioethics

RC262.E558 2002 REF
Encyclopedia of Cancer

TP248.16.M87 2000 REF
Encyclopedia of Ethical Legal and Policy Issues in Biotechnology

QH360.2 .E54 2002 REF
Encyclopedia of Evolution

QP141 .E526 2003 REF
Encyclopedia of Food Sciences and Nutrition

QH427.E53 2002 REF
Encyclopedia of Genetics

QP571 .E5 2003 REF
Encyclopedia of Hormones

QP11.E53 1997 REF
Encyclopedia of Human Biology

QP141.E526 1999 REF
Encyclopedia of Human Nutrition

QR180.4.E53 1998 REF
Encyclopedia of Immunology

QL462.3 .E49 2003 REF
Encyclopedia of Insects

QR9.E53 1999 REF
Encyclopedia of Microbiology

QH506.E53 1999 REF
Encyclopedia of Molecular Biology

QP251 .E48125 1998 REF
Encyclopedia of Reproduction

GF75.B5613 1999 REF
Encyclopedia of the Biosphere

QP376 .E59 REF 2002
Encyclopedia of the Human Brain

QR358.E52 1999 REF
Encyclopedia of Virology

GF10 .E63 2003 REF
Encyclopedia of World Environmental History

QL7 .G7813 2003 REF
Grzimek's Animal Life Encyclopedia

Dictionaries
RC262.A39 2000 REF
The Cancer Dictionary

QP360.D52 2001 REF
Dictionary of Biological Psychology

QH575.L25 1999 REF
The Dictionary of Cell and Molecular Biology

QH302.5.I534 1999 REF
Dictionary of Biology

TP248.16.S84 2001 REF
The Facts on File Dictionary of Biotechnology and Genetic Engineering

QK9 .F33 2002 REF
The Facts on File Dictionary of Botany

QD415.A25 O94 2000 REF
Oxford Dictionary of Biochemistry and Molecular Biology

Handbooks
QL474.A76 2000 REF
American Insects: A Handbook of the Insects of America north of Mexico

QR81.A5 1994 REF
Bergey's Manual of Determinative Bacteriology

QR81.B46 1984 REF
Bergey's Manual of Systematic Bacteriology

QL82.E55 2000 REF
Endangered Animals: A Reference Guide to Conflicting Issues

QP38.H7933 1995 REF
The Human Body: An Illustrated Guide to its Structure, Function, and Disorders

RS164.R676 2003 REF
Medicinal Plants of the World

QL703.W222 1999 REF
Walker's Mammals of the World

Atlases
QR182.C78 1999 REF
Atlas of Immunology

QM25.S74 1998 REF
Atlas of the Visible Human Male: Reverse Engineering of the Human Body

QK49 .A8513 2004 REF
Essential Atlas of Botany

QM23.2.J63 1997 REF
The Johns Hopkins Atlas of Human Functional Anatomy

QM25 .M23 2003 REF
McMinn's Color Atlas of Human Anatomy

G1046.L4 S6 2001 REF
World Atlas of Coral Reefs

QM25.W633 2000 REF
Wolf-Heidegger's Atlas of Human Anatomy

Biographies
Q141 .A474 2003 REF
American Men and Women of Science

Q141.D5 REF
Dictionary of Scientific Biography

Writing and Style Manuals
R119.M28 2000 REF
Successful Scientific Writing: A Step-By-Step Guide for the Biological and Medical Sciences

T11.S386 1994 REF
Scientific Style and Format: The CBE Manual for Authors, Editors, and Publishers

Back to top

FIND BOOKS IN LAVERY LIBRARY AND BEYOND
The key to the library's extensive book collection is the Library Catalog. It may be searched by Author, Title, Subject, or Keyword. Subject headings are established by the Library of Congress. If you have any trouble selecting a Subject heading for your topic, try a Keyword search or check the listings in the Library of Congress Subject Headings red books (Z 695 .L69 2001 REF) in the Reference area near the main floor computers.

If you would like to browse in the Biology section the main call numbers for Biology are QH – QP.

Circulating books are all located on the upper level.

Link to the Library Catalog from the library's home page http://library.sjfc.edu

Find books in Other Libraries by selecting Other Libraries from the library's home page.

Search the world for books by selecting WorldCat from the databases listed on the Research Databases web page.

To order a book from another library use the online Interlibrary Loan form, accessible from the library's home page http://library.sjfc.edu.

Back to top

FIND ARTICLES AND MORE
Lavery Library subscribes to an extensive collection of Research Databases that may be used to search for articles on your topic in periodicals, newspapers, and book chapters. Periodicals include both scholarly journals and popular magazines. When researching for courses in your major, it is usually recommended that you use scholarly articles, also referred to as peer reviewed or refereed articles. Databases will often allow you to limit your search to scholarly articles.

If the article cited on the database that you are using does not appear in full-text on the database, check Journals or Articles By Title on the library's home page to determine if the periodical is either full-text on another database or available in hard copy in the library's collection.

Research Databases are listed both alphabetically and by subject on the library's home page. When starting research in Biology, the following databases are recommended:

BasicBIOSIS
BioDigest
BIOSIS Previews
Expanded Academic Index
Proquest Research Library

Link to Subject Listing of databases available for Sciences

Back to top

FIND WEBSITES
When using websites for research it is very important to evaluate their authority and content. Use the following checklist to evaluate sites before using them as references.

Evaluating Web Sites Checklist

Your liaison librarian has provided a list of quality websites for Biology. They are available on the library's home page under "Selected Websites" Select Biology.

To search for additional websites, start with Google - http://www.google.com.

Back to top

Melissa Jadlos
Lavery Library