College
column spacer
    Lavery Library Spacer Spike Subject Guides Spacer SpikeBusiness

INTRODUCTION

This subject guide covers comprehensive resources related to topics in Business, Accounting, and Management. Other related subject guides include: Economics.

Back to top

FIND BACKGROUND INFORMATION
Reference Books are located on the Main Level of Lavery Library.

Reference books provide background information to help you understand your topic, narrow your topic, or prepare an outline of your topic. They also help define terms related to your topic, provide assistance in the selection of subject terms for your database searches, and contain factual information, such as, statistics, biographies, and maps.

Back to top

SELECTED PRINT REFERENCES SOURCES:

Encyclopedias
HC102 .E53 2001 REF
Encyclopedia of American Industries

HF1001 .E466 2000 REF
Encyclopedia of Business

HF1001 .E467 2001 REF
Encyclopedia of Busine$$ and Finance

HF5381 .E52 2003 REF
Encyclopedia of Careers and Vocational Guidance

HM136 .B783 1997 REF
Encyclopedia of Conflict Resolution

HD62.7 .H553 1998 REF
Encyclopedia of Small Business

HB61 .F67 1993 REF
The Fortune Encyclopedia of Economics

HF1001 .I53 2002 REF
International Encyclopedia of Business and Management

HG4551 .I57 1999 REF
International Encyclopedia of the Stock Market

HF1001 .K52 1997 REF
Knowledge Exchange Business Encyclopedia: Illustrated

HB61 .E55 1994 REF
The McGraw-Hill Encyclopedia of Economics

Dictionaries
HG4513 .B66 2001 REF
The Complete Investment and Finance Dictionary

HF1001 .T43 1990 REF
Dictionary for Business & Finance

HG151 .D54 1997 REF
A Dictionary of Finance and Banking

HG151 .D69 1998 REF
Dictionary of Finance and Investment Terms

HG3880 .S548 2001 REF
Dictionary of International Investment Terms

HM136 .J47 1998 REF
An Encyclopedic Dictionary of Conflict and Conflict Resolution, 1945-1996

HF5549 .A23 .T73 2004 REF
The Human Resources Glossary

HD62.4 .I38 1999 REF
The IEBM Handbook of International Business

HF5621 .I57 1999 REF
International Dictionary of Accounting Acronyms

HF5621 .W3 2004 REF
An International Dictionary of Accounting & Taxation

HB61 .B33 2003 REF
The Penguin Dictionary of Economics

Handbooks, Guides, and Almanacs
HF5382.75 .U6 .P48 2002 REF
The Almanac of American Employers

T223 .V4 .A25 2004 REF
Brands and Their Companies

HD62.7 .B865 REF
Business Plans Handbook

HD38.15 .B878 2002 REF
Business: The Ultimate Resource

HC79 .C6 .G665 2004 REF
Consumer Culture: A Reference Handbook

GN307 .C68 2001 REF
Countries and Their Cultures

K3840 .D64 2004 REF
Doing Business in 2004: Understanding Regulation

D2 .E8 2004 REF
The Europa World Year Book

HF1746 .H36 1999 REF
Handbook of North American Industry: NAFTA and the Economies of Its Member Nations

HG4057 .A24 2003 REF
Hoover's Handbook of American Business

HF5547.5 .O344 2003 REF
The Office Professional's Guide

HF5382.75 .U6 .P486 2002 REF
Plunkett's Companion to The Almanac of American Employers: Mid-size Firms, 2002-2003

HF54.56 .P588 2000 REF
Plunkett's On-line Trading, Finance & Investment Web Sites Almanac

HG4501 .S7949 2004 REF
Stocks, Bonds, Bills, and Inflation

HC106.5 .A17 REF
U.S. Industry & Trade Outlook

HC59.15 .W656 REF
World Development Indicators

HC10 .W7979 REF
World Economic Outlook

HF1371 .W67 REF
World Trade Almanac

Biographies and Bibliographies
H91 .C24 2001-02 REF
The Basic Business Library: Core Resources

HD30.15 .B43 2001 REF
The Biographical Dictionary of Management

Directories
HG4057 .A353 REF
Business Rankings Annual

H91 .C23 2001-02 REF
Cabell's Directory of Publishing Opportunities in Accounting

Z675 .B8 .B37 2002 REF
Cabell's Directory of Publishing Opportunities in Economics and Finance

H91 .C23 2000 REF
Cabell's Directory of Publishing Opportunities in Management

H91 .C2 2000 REF
Cabell's Directory of Publishing Opportunities in Marketing

HG4057 .A219 2003 REF
Directory of Corporate Affiliations: U.S. Public Companies

HD2755.5 .D57 2001 REF
Directory of Multinationals: The World's Largest Global Enterprises

HG4057 .A237 REF
Dun's Business Rankings

HG4058 .R6 .D86 2004 REF
Dun's Regional Business Directory, Rochester/Buffalo Area

HE7771 .F39 2002 REF
FaxUSA 2002: A Directory of Facsimile Numbers for Businesses and Organizations Nationwide

HG8011 .M37 2005 REF
Market Sourcebook

HG4057 .A44 REF
Standard & Poor's 500 Guide

Statistical Sources
HF5681 .R25 .T68 REF
Almanac of Business and Industrial Financial Ratios

HA214 .A6 2003 REF
The American Marketplace: Demographics and Spending Patterns

HC101 .A13122 REF
Business Statistics of the United States

HB849.49 .R875 2003 REF
Demographics of the U.S.: Trends and Projections

HC103 .R64 1998 REF
Handbook of Key Economic Indicators

HD8064 .H38 2004 REF
Handbook of U.S. Labor Statistics: Employment, Earnings, Prices, Productivity, and Other Labor Data

HF5611 .G74 2001 REF
International Accounting Standards: A Practical Guide

HF91 .U473 REF
International Trade Statistics Yearbook

HF5410 .M35 2005 REF
Market Share Reporter: An Annual Compilation of Reported Market Share Data on Companies, Products, and Services

HF5681 .B2 .R58 REF
RMA Annual Statement Studies

HA202 REF
Statistical Abstract of the United States

HC110 .C6 .S73 1999 REF
Statistical Handbook on Consumption and Wealth in the United States

HA12.5 .U63 REF
Statistical Yearbook

HC59.15 .W656 REF
World Development Indicators

Histories
HG181 .M297 2002 REF
A Financial History of the United States

HF5605 .H573 1996 REF
The History of Accounting: An International Encyclopedia

HD2721 .D36 REF
International Directory of Company Histories

Writing and Style Manuals
Z253 .U69 2003 REF
The Chicago Manual of Style

PE1479 .B87 .S23 2001 REF
The Gregg Reference Manual

Periodicals
HC106.5 .A272 REF
Economic Report of the President Transmitted to the Congress

HC10 .O6 REF
OECD Economic Surveys

Back to top

FIND BOOKS IN LAVERY LIBRARY AND BEYOND
The key to the library's extensive book collection is the Library Catalog. It may be searched by Author, Title, Subject, or Keyword. Subject headings are established by the Library of Congress. If you have any trouble selecting a Subject heading for your topic, try a Keyword search or check the listings in the Library of Congress Subject Headings red books (Z 695 .L69 2001 REF) in the Reference area near the main floor computers.

Subject Headings which may be useful to you for Business are:

Accounting
Business
Business Management
Corporations
Economic Policy
Economics
Executives
Finance
Industry
Information Technology
Managerial Economics
Marketing
[name of topic such as Conflict Management, Human Capital, or Knowledge Management]

If you would like to browse in the Business section of the library, the main call numbers for Business are:

H, HA, HB, HC, HD, HF, HG, HJ's

Circulating books are all located on the upper level.

Link to the Library Catalog from the library's home page http://library.sjfc.edu

Find books in Other Libraries by selecting Library Catalog from the library's home page, then select Other Library Catalogs.

Search the world for books by selecting WorldCat from the databases listed under Research Databases. From the library's home page, select Research Tools, select Research Databases, then select WorldCat from the alphabetized list.

To order a book from another library use the online Interlibrary Loan form, accessible from the library's home page http://library.sjfc.edu.

Back to top

FIND ARTICLES AND MORE
Lavery Library subscribes to an extensive collection of Research Databases that may be used to search for articles on your topic in periodicals, newspapers, and book chapters. Periodicals include both scholarly journals and popular magazines. When researching for courses in your major, it is usually recommended that you use scholarly articles, also referred to as peer reviewed or refereed articles. Databases will often allow you to limit your search to scholarly articles.

If the article cited on the database that you are using does not appear in full-text on the database, check Periodical Holdings to determine if the periodical is either full-text on another database or available in hard copy in the library's collection. From the library's home page, select Research Tools, then select Research Databases.

Research Databases are listed both alphabetically and by subject on the library's home page. When starting research in Business, the following databases are recommended:

General
ABI/INFORM Global
BusDateline
JSTOR
LexisNexis Academic

Company and Investing Information
Business & Company Resource Center
Hoover's Online
Mergent Online
Standard & Poors NetAdvantage
LexisNexis Academic

Link to Subject Listing of databases available for Business, Accounting and Economics

Back to top

FIND WEBSITES
When using websites for research it is very important to evaluate their authority and content. Use the following checklist to evaluate sites before using them as references.

Evaluating Web Sites Checklist

Your liaison librarian has provided a list of quality websites for Business. They are available on the library's home page under Selected Websites.

To search for additional websites, start with Google - http://www.google.com.

Back to top

Prepared by Courtney Seymour, March 2005

Kate Ross
Lavery Library