College
column spacer
    Lavery Library Spacer Spike Subject Guides Spacer SpikeClassical Studies

INTRODUCTION

This subject guide covers comprehensive resources related to Classical Studies. Other related subject guides include: European History, Philosophy, Religious Studies, and World History.

Back to top

FIND BACKGROUND INFORMATION
Reference Books are located on the Main Level of Lavery Library.

Reference books provide background information to help you understand your topic, narrow your topic, or prepare an outline of your topic. They also help define terms related to your topic, provide assistance in the selection of subject terms for your database searches, and contain factual information, such as, statistics, biographies, and maps.

Back to top

SELECTED PRINT REFERENCES SOURCES:

Encyclopedias
B163 .E53 1997 REF
Encyclopedia of Classical Philosophy

BL715 .D56 1998 REF
Encyclopedia of Greco-Roman Mythology

DF757 .E53 2000 REF
Encyclopedia of Greece and the Hellenic Tradition

DG270 .B86 2002 REF
Encyclopedia of the Roman Empire

PN56 .E65 .E64 1994 REF
Encyclopedia of Traditional Epics

BL303 .M45 2004 REF
The Facts On File Encyclopedia of World Mythology and Legend

BL311 .M97 2000 REF
Myths and Legends of the World

Dictionaries
BS440 .E44 2000 REF
Eerdmans Dictionary of the Bible

PA2365 .E5 .S76 1996 REF
Latin for the Illiterati: Exorcising the Ghosts of a Dead Language

DE5 .O9 2003 REF
The Oxford Classical Dictionary

BL715 .O94 2003 REF
The Oxford Dictionary of Classical Myth and Religion

PN43 .O94 2000 REF
The Oxford Dictionary of Phrase and Fable

PA1139 .E5 .W38 2000 REF
The Oxford Greek Dictionary: Greek-English, English-Greek

Literature Companions and Guides
BS491.3 .O94 2001 REF
The Oxford Bible Commentary

PA31 .H69 1989 REF
The Oxford Companion to Classical Literature

Chronologies and Histories
D62 .A52 2004 REF
Ancient Europe 8000 B.C.--A.D. 1000: Encyclopedia of the Barbarian World

D11 .C57 1997 REF
Chronology of European History, 15,000 B.C. to 1997

D11 .M39 1999 REF
Chronology of World History

PN50 .L574 1997 REF
Literature and Its Times: Profiles of 300 Notable Literary Works and the Historical Events That Influenced Them

Bio-Bibliographies and Criticism
PN610 .C53 REF
Classical and Medieval Literature Criticism

PN451 .M36 2003 REF
Cyclopedia of World Authors

PN451 .L57 2001 REF
Literature Lover's Companion: The Essential Reference to the World's Greatest Writers, Past and Present, Popular and Classical

Writing and Style Manuals
Z253 .U69 2003 REF
The Chicago Manual of Style

PN174 .T75 1999 REF
A Guide to MLA Documentation: With an Appendix on APA Style

LB2369 .G53 2003 REF
MLA Handbook for Writers of Research Papers

PN147 .G444 1998 REF
MLA Style Manual and Guide to Scholarly Publishing

LB2369 .L4 2005 REF
Writing Research Papers: A Complete Guide

Back to top

FIND BOOKS IN LAVERY LIBRARY AND BEYOND
The key to the library's extensive book collection is the Library Catalog. It may be searched by Author, Title, Subject, or Keyword. Subject headings are established by the Library of Congress. If you have any trouble selecting a Subject heading for your topic, try a Keyword search or check the listings in the Library of Congress Subject Headings red books (Z 695 .L69 2001 REF) in the Reference area near the main floor computers.

Subject Headings which may be useful to you for Classical Studies are:

Athens (Greece) History
Bible N.T.
Classical Literature
Greek Language
Greek Literature
Latin Literature
Latin Language
Mythology Classical
Mythology Greek
Mythology Roman
Philosophy Ancient
Philosophy Renaissance
Rome History
[name of author, such as Cicero]

If you would like to browse in the Classical Studies section of the library, the main call numbers for Classical Studies are:

B, BL, D, DE, DF, DG, PA, PN's

Circulating books are all located on the Upper Level.

Link to the Library Catalog from the library's home page http://library.sjfc.edu

Find books in Other Libraries by selecting Library Catalog from the library's home page, then select Other Library Catalogs.

Search the world for books by selecting WorldCat from the databases listed under Research Databases. From the library's home page, select Research Tools, select Research Databases, then select WorldCat from the alphabetized list.

To order a book from another library use the online Interlibrary Loan form, accessible from the library's home page http://library.sjfc.edu.

Back to top

FIND ARTICLES AND MORE
Lavery Library subscribes to an extensive collection of Research Databases that may be used to search for articles on your topic in periodicals, newspapers, and book chapters. Periodicals include both scholarly journals and popular magazines. When researching for courses in your major, it is usually recommended that you use scholarly articles, also referred to as peer reviewed or refereed articles. Databases will often allow you to limit your search to scholarly articles.

If the article cited on the database that you are using does not appear in full-text on the database, check Periodical Holdings to determine if the periodical is either full-text on another database or available in hard copy in the library's collection. From the library's home page, select Research Tools, then select Research Databases.

Research Databases are listed both alphabetically and by subject on the library's home page. When starting research in Classical Studies, the following databases are recommended:

Arts and Humanities Search
ATLA
Expanded Academic Index
JSTOR
MLA
Philosopher's Index
Project MUSE
ProQuest Research Library

Link to Subject Listing of databases available for Humanities & Art.

Back to top

FIND WEBSITES
When using websites for research it is very important to evaluate their authority and content. Use the following checklist to evaluate sites before using them as references.

Evaluating Web Sites Checklist

Your liaison librarian has provided a list of quality websites for Classical Studies. They are available on the library's home page under Selected Websites.

To search for additional websites, start with Google - http://www.google.com.

Back to top

Prepared by Courtney Seymour, March 2005

Melissa Jadlos
Lavery Library