|
INTRODUCTION
This subject guide covers comprehensive resources related to topics in Computer Science.
Other related subject guides include: Mathematics.
FIND BACKGROUND INFORMATION
Reference Books are located on the Main Level of Lavery Library.
Reference books provide background information to help you understand your topic, narrow your topic, or prepare an outline of your topic. They also help define terms related to your topic, provide assistance in the selection of subject terms for your database searches, and contain factual information, such as, statistics, biographies, and maps.
SELECTED PRINT REFERENCES SOURCES:
Encyclopedias
QA76.15 .H43 2003 REF
Encyclopedia of Computer Science and Technology
Z1006 .E566 2005 REF
Encyclopedia of Information Science & Technology
QA76.575 .E5368 2003 REF
Encyclopedia of New Media: An Essential Reference to Communication and Technology
Q123 .E497 2002 REF
Encyclopedia of Physical Science and Technology
Q121 .V65 1999 REF
The Facts On File Encyclopedia of Science, Technology, and Society
Q121 .M3 2002 REF
McGraw-Hill Encyclopedia of Science & Technology
HM846 .S43 2005 REF
Science, Technology, and Society: An Encyclopedia
QA76.15 .W67 2002 REF
World of Computer Science
QA5 .W67 2001 REF
World of Mathematics
Dictionaries
QA76.15 .C65 2002b
Dictionary of Multimedia [electronic resource]
QA76.17 .D320 1997 REF
Dictionary of Personal Computing and the Internet
Q123 .M15 2003 REF
McGraw-Hill Dictionary of Scientific and Technical Terms
QA5 .P4425 2003 REF
The Penguin Dictionary of Mathematics
QA76.15 .P395 2003 REF
Webster's New World Computer Dictionary
QA76.15 .W55 1999 REF
Wired Style: Principles of English Usage in the Digital Age
Handbooks and Guides
QA93 .S49 2002 REF
The A to Z of Mathematics: A Basic Guide
HV6773 .S3547 2004
Cybercrime: A Reference Handbook
QA76.575 .D548 1998 REF
Multimedia and the Web from A to Z
Histories and Biographies
Q141 .A474 2003 REF
American Men & Women of Science
Q125 .H6298 2002 REF
History of Modern Science and Mathematics
Q125 .B945 2004 REF
The History of Science and Technology
QA76 .R434 2003 REF
Milestones in Computer Science and Information Technology
Q125 .R335 2000 REF
Reader's Guide to the History of Science
Yearbooks
Q121 .M312 REF
McGraw-Hill Yearbook of Science and Technology
Periodicals
Communications of the ACM
Computer Graphics
Computers & Education
Computers in Industry
ComputerWorld
Dr. Dobb's Journal
Information & Management
Information Executive
Information Systems Management
InfoWorld
Interfaces
Journal of Computer-Based Instruction
MIS Quarterly
PC Magazine
PC World
Personal Computing
Print
Chronologies
Q125 .C482 2002 REF
Chronology of Science
Writing and Style Manuals
Z253 .U69 2003 REF
The Chicago Manual of Style
LB2369 .L47 2005 REF
The Essential Guide: Research Writing Across the Disciplines
FIND BOOKS IN LAVERY LIBRARY AND BEYOND
The key to the library's extensive book collection is the Library Catalog. It may be searched by Author, Title, Subject, or Keyword. Subject headings are established by the Library of Congress. If you have any trouble selecting a Subject heading for your topic, try a Keyword search or check the listings in the Library of Congress Subject Headings red books (Z 695 .L69 2001 REF) in the Reference area near the main floor computers.
Subject Headings which may be useful to you for Computer Science are:
Application Software
Computer Graphics
Computer Networks
Computer Programming
Computer Science Mathematics
Computer Software
Data Encryption
Data Structures
Database Design
Database Management
Information Technology
Internet
Internet Programming
Mathematical Statistics
Mathematics
Microcomputing
Multimedia Systems
Numerical Analysis
Relational Databases
Web Site Development
Web Sites Design
[name of topic such as C++ or UNIX]
If you would like to browse in the Computer Science section of the library,
the main call numbers for Computer Science are:
QA's
Circulating books are all located on the Upper Level.
Link to the Library Catalog from the library's home page http://library.sjfc.edu
Find books in Other Libraries by selecting Library Catalog from the library's home page,
then select Other Library Catalogs.
Search the world for books by selecting WorldCat from the databases listed under Research Databases. From the library's
home page, select Research Tools, select Research Databases, then select WorldCat from the alphabetized list.
To order a book from another library use the online Interlibrary Loan form, accessible from the library's home page http://library.sjfc.edu.
FIND ARTICLES AND MORE
Lavery Library subscribes to an extensive collection of Research Databases that may be used to search for articles on your topic in periodicals, newspapers, and book chapters. Periodicals include both scholarly journals and popular magazines. When researching for courses in your major, it is usually recommended that you use scholarly articles, also referred to as peer reviewed or refereed articles. Databases will often allow you to limit your search to scholarly articles.
If the article cited on the database that you are using does not appear in full-text on the database, check Periodical Holdings to determine if the periodical is either
full-text on another database or available in hard copy in the library's collection.
From the library's home page, select Research Tools, then select
Research Databases.
Research Databases are listed both alphabetically and by subject on the library's home page. When starting research in Computer Science, the following databases are recommended:
Access Science: Encyclopedia of Science & Technology
Books24x7 ITPro (ebooks)
Expanded Academic Index
FirstSearch
netLibrary (ebooks)
ProQuest Research Library
Link to Subject Listing of databases available for Science & Mathematics
FIND WEBSITES
When using websites for research it is very important to evaluate their authority and content. Use the following checklist to evaluate sites before using them as references.
Evaluating Web Sites Checklist
Your liaison librarian has provided a list of quality websites for Computer Science. They are available on the library's home page under Selected Websites.
Prepared by Courtney Seymour, March 2005
Updated: Systems Librarian, August 2005
|
Adam Traub
|
Lavery Library
|
|
|