College
column spacer
    Lavery Library Spacer Spike Subject Guides Spacer Spike Economics

INTRODUCTION

This subject guide covers comprehensive resources related to topics in Economics and Business.

Back to top

FIND BACKGROUND INFORMATION
Reference Books are located on the Main Level of Lavery Library.

Reference books provide background information to help you understand your topic, narrow your topic, or prepare an outline of your topic. They also help define terms related to your topic, provide assistance in the selection of subject terms for your database searches, and contain factual information, such as, statistics, biographies, and maps.

Back to top

SELECTED PRINT REFERENCES SOURCES:

Encyclopedias
HB99.7 .E528 1997 REF
An Encyclopedia of Keynesian Economics

HB61 .E554 1999 REF
Encyclopedia of Political Economy

HB61 .F67 1993 REF
The Fortune Encyclopedia of Economics

HF1001 .K52 1997 REF
Knowledge Exchange Business Encyclopedia: Illustrated

HB61 .E55 1994 REF
The McGraw-Hill Encyclopedia of Economics

HC15 .O94 2003 REF
The Oxford Encyclopedia of Economic History

Dictionaries
HF1001 .T43 1990 REF
Dictionary for Business & Finance

HB61 .N49 1987 REF
The New Palgrave: A Dictionary of Economics

HB61 .B33 2003 REF
The Penguin Dictionary of Economics

HB61 .J64 1980 REF
Quadrilingual Economics Dictionary: English/American, French, German, Dutch

Handbooks and Almanacs
HF5681 .R25 .T68 REF
Almanac of Business and Industrial Financial Ratios

HC79 .C6 .G665 2004 REF
Consumer Culture: A Reference Handbook

HB171 .A63 1994 REF
Economic Literacy: A Comprehensive Guide to Economic Issues From Foreign Trade To Health Care

HA29 .E28 1997 REF
The Economist Guide to Economic Indicators: Making Sense of Economics

D2 .E8 2004 REF
The Europa World Year Book

HC106 .J63 1993 REF
Finding & Using Economic Information: A Guide to Sources and Interpretation

HC103 .F9 1994 REF
Guide to Economic Indicators

HC103 .R64 1998 REF
Handbook of Key Economic Indicators

HC59.7 .W659 1994 REF
Infrastructure for Development

HA37 .U55 .M3 1994 REF
Macroeconomic Data: A User's Guide

HC106.5 .A17 REF
U.S. Industry & Trade Outlook

HB235 .U6 .V35 1999 REF
The Value of a Dollar: Prices and Incomes in the United States, 1860-1999

HC59.15 .W656 REF
World Development Indicators

HC10 .W7979 REF
World Economic Outlook

HF1371 .W67 REF
World Trade Almanac

Directories
H91 .C24 2001-02 REF
Cabell's Directory of Publishing Opportunities in Economics and Finance

Statistical Sources
HA214 .A6 2003 REF
The American Marketplace: Demographics and Spending Patterns

HC101 .A13122 REF
Business Statistics of the United States

HB849.49 .R875 2003 REF
Demographics of the U.S.: Trends and Projections

HD8064 .H38 2004 REF
Handbook of U.S. Labor Statistics: Employment, Earnings, Prices, Productivity, and Other Labor Data

HF91 .U473 REF
International Trade Statistics Yearbook

HA202 REF
Statistical Abstract of the United States

HC110 .C6 .S73 1999 REF
Statistical Handbook on Consumption and Wealth in the United States

HA12.5 .U63 REF
Statistical Yearbook

Periodicals
HC106.5 .A272 REF
Economic Report of the President Transmitted to the Congress

HC10 .O6 REF
OECD Economic Surveys

Back to top

FIND BOOKS IN LAVERY LIBRARY AND BEYOND
The key to the library's extensive book collection is the Library Catalog. It may be searched by Author, Title, Subject, or Keyword. Subject headings are established by the Library of Congress. If you have any trouble selecting a Subject heading for your topic, try a Keyword search or check the listings in the Library of Congress Subject Headings red books (Z 695 .L69 2001 REF) in the Reference area near the main floor computers.

Subject Headings which may be useful to you for Economics are:

Business
Consumption (Economics)
Economic Development
Economic History
Economic Policy
Economics
Finance
[name of topic such as "Supply and Demand"]

If you would like to browse in the Economics section of the library, the main call numbers for:

Economics are: HA, HB, HC, HD, HF, HG, HJ's

Circulating books are all located on the Upper Level.

Link to the Library Catalog from the library's home page http://library.sjfc.edu

Find books in Other Libraries by selecting Library Catalog from the library's home page, then select Other Library Catalogs.

Search the world for books by selecting WorldCat from the databases listed under Research Databases. From the library's home page, select Research Tools, select Research Databases, then select WorldCat from the alphabetized list.

To order a book from another library use the online Interlibrary Loan form, accessible from the library's home page http://library.sjfc.edu.

Back to top

FIND ARTICLES AND MORE
Lavery Library subscribes to an extensive collection of Research Databases that may be used to search for articles on your topic in periodicals, newspapers, and book chapters. Periodicals include both scholarly journals and popular magazines. When researching for courses in your major, it is usually recommended that you use scholarly articles, also referred to as peer reviewed or refereed articles. Databases will often allow you to limit your search to scholarly articles.

If the article cited on the database that you are using does not appear in full-text on the database, check Periodical Holdings to determine if the periodical is either full-text on another database or available in hard copy in the library's collection. From the library's home page, select Research Tools, then select Research Databases.

Research Databases are listed both alphabetically and by subject on the library's home page. When starting research in Economics, the following databases are recommended:

ABI/INFORM Global
Business & Company Resource Center
EconLit
JSTOR
LexisNexis Academic
ProQuest Research Library
WilsonSelectPlus

Link to Subject Listing of databases available for Business, Accounting and Economics

Back to top

FIND WEBSITES
When using websites for research it is very important to evaluate their authority and content. Use the following checklist to evaluate sites before using them as references.

Evaluating Web Sites Checklist

Your liaison librarian has provided a list of quality websites for Economics. They are available on the library's home page under Selected Websites.

To search for additional websites, start with Google - http://www.google.com.

Back to top

Prepared by Courtney Seymour, March 2005

Kate Ross
Lavery Library