College
column spacer
    Lavery Library Spacer Spike Subject Guides Spacer Spike Education

INTRODUCTION

FIND BACKGROUND INFORMATION

SELECTED PRINT REFERENCE SOURCES

FIND BOOKS IN LAVERY LIBRARY AND BEYOND

FIND ARTICLES AND MORE

FIND WEBSITES

INTRODUCTION
The following is a guide to starting research in the field of Education. It is not meant to be comprehensive. For additional help in researching Education topics, contact the Reference Desk at 385-8141.

Back to top

FIND BACKGROUND INFORMATION
Reference Books are located on the Main Level of Lavery Library.

Reference books provide background information to help you understand your topic, narrow your topic, or prepare an outline of your topic. They also help define terms related to your topic, provide assistance in the selection of subject terms for your database searches, and contain factual information, such as statistics, biographies, and maps.

Back to top

SELECTED PRINT REFERENCES SOURCES:

Encyclopedias
LC4007.E53 2002 REF
Concise Encyclopedia of Special Education

LC189.95.E38 2002 REF
Education and Sociology: an encyclopedia

LC2717.E53 1996 REF
Encyclopedia of African-American Education

LB17.U54 2001 REF
Encyclopedia of American Education

LC3707.E53 1998 REF
Encyclopedia of Bilingualism and Bilingual Education

LB1139.25.E53 1992 REF
Encyclopedia of Early Childhood Education

LB15.E47 REF
The Encyclopedia of Education

LB15.E48 1992 REF
Encyclopedia of Educational Research

LC4704.5.T86 2002 REF
The Encyclopedia of Learning Disabilities

LC4007.E53 2000 REF
Encyclopedia of Special Education: a reference for the education of the handicapped and other exceptional children

LC151.L487 2002 REF
Literacy in America: an encyclopedia of history

LB17.P485 1996 REF
Philosophy of Education: an encyclopedia

LB15.W87 2001 REF
The World Education Encyclopedia

Dictionaries
LB15.B29 1990 REF
A Critical Dictionary of Educational Concepts: an appraisal of selected ideas and issues in educational theory

LB15.S73 1998 REF
The Cyclopedic Education Dictionary

RJ135.A26 1996 REF
Dictionary of Developmental Disabilities Terminology

LC1099.D534 1997 REF
Dictionary of Multicultural Education

LC212.52.R34 1998 REF
Historical Dictionary of School Segregation and Desegregation: the American experience

LB15.H57 1999 REF
Historical Dictionary of American Education

LC1752.H57 1998 REF
Historical Dictionary of Women's Education in the United States

LC4705.L434 2003 REF
Learning Disabilities Sourcebook: basic information about disorders such as dyslexia,. . .

LB1049.98.L58 1995 REF
The Literacy Dictionary: the vocabulary of reading and writing

LC3957.S64 1997 REF
Special Education Dictionary

Guidebooks
PR990.L715 1998 REF
A to Zoo: subject access to children's picture books

LB1044.9.A5R33 1998 REF
Black Books Galore!: guide to great African American children's books

LB2817.3.C66 1998 REF
The Comparative Guide to American Elementary & Secondary Schools

KF4114.Z57 1995 REF
A Digest of Supreme Court Decisions Affecting Education

LB15.B89 2000 REF
Education, a guide to reference and information sources

LA210.E4473 1997 REF
Education Sourcebook: basic information about national educational expectations and goals

LB1044.9.P49H37 1996 REF
Picture Books to Enhance the Curriculum

Directories
LB1775.2.E33 2001 REF
Career Opportunities in Education

LC4705.55.L32 2001 REF
Complete Learning Disabilities Directory: products, resources, books, services

L901.P3 2003 REF
Patterson's American Education

L901.P33 2003 REF
Patterson's Elementary Education

Handbooks
LC2741.J33 2001 REF
African American Education: a reference handbook

LB1028.E3184 1997 REF
Educational Research, Methodology and Measurement: an international handbook

LB1028.27.U6F74 2002 REF
The Educator's Desk Reference (EDR): a sourcebook of educational information and research

LB1051.H2354 1996 REF
Handbook of Educational Psychology

LB1028.3.H355 1996 REF
Handbook of Research for Educational Communication and Technology

LB2805.H2864 1999 REF
Handbook of Research on Educational Administration: a project of the American Educational Research Association

LC1099.3.H35 2001 REF
Handbook of Research on Multicultural Education

LB1139.23.I68 1992 REF
International Handbook of Early Childhood Education

LC111.J87 1998 REF
Religion in the Schools: a reference handbook

Assessment/Standards
QA13.A878 1995 REF
Assessment Standards for School Mathematics

LB1570.M482 1992 REF
A Core Curriculum: making mathematics count for everyone

LB3051.L4543 2000 REF
Handbook of Tests and Measurement in Education and the Social Sciences

LB1772.N7L5 1999 REF
Liberal Arts and Sciences Test (LAST) Sample Questions

Z5814.P8B932 2001 REF
Mental Measurements Yearbook

LB2822.82.S82 2001 REF
Standards and Schooling in the United States: an encyclopedia

LB2844.1.R4S83 1998 REF
Standards for Reading Professionals

BF176.T43 1997 REF
Tests: a comprehensive reference for assessments in psychology, education, and business

Z5814.E9T47 1999 REF
Tests in Print IV: an index to tests, test reviews, and the literature on specific tests

Statistics
LB2846.U83 2002 REF
The Condition of Education 2002

L111.A79 2001 REF
Digest of Education Statistics, 2001

LB2331.63.E34 2002 REF
Educational Rankings Annual

LA337.A4 2002 REF
New York, the state of learning

LA210.A28 1999 REF
Projections of Education Statistics to 2009

Yearbook
LB1771.W6 2003-2004 REF
Requirements for Certification of Teachers, Counselors, Librarians, Administrators for Elementary and Secondary Schools

Internet Resources
PS374.C454S77 1999 REF
Caldecott on the Net: reading & Internet activities

LB1044.87.P763 1999 REF
The Internet and the World Wide Web for Preservice Teachers

LB1044.87.M55 2001 REF
The Internet Resource Directory for K-12 Teachers and Librarians

E184.A1G874 1999 REF
Multicultural Resources on the Internet

LB1044.87.B54 1998 REF
The Prentice Hall Directory of Online Education Resources

Thesauri
LB15.E3 2001 REF
Thesaurus of ERIC Descriptors

Z695.1.P7T48 1997 REF
Thesaurus of Psychological Index Terms

Back to top

FIND BOOKS AND AUDIOVISUAL MATERIALS IN LAVERY LIBRARY AND BEYOND
The key to the library's extensive book collection is the Library Catalog. It may be searched by Author, Title, Subject, or Keyword. Subject headings are established by the Library of Congress. If you have any trouble selecting a Subject heading for your topic, try a Keyword search or check the listings in the Library of Congress Subject Headings red books (Z 695 .L69 2001 REF) in the Reference area near the main floor computers.

Subject Headings which may be useful to you for Education are:

Children's Literature Juvenile Fiction or Juvenile Literature
Classroom Management       i.e. friendship - juvenile literature
Education - History Literacy
Education - Philosophy Reading
Education, Elementary School Choice
Education, Secondary School Discipline
Educational Psychology School Management and Organization
Educational Technology School Principals
First Year Teachers Special Education

If you would like to browse in the Education section of the library, the main call numbers are L's.

Circulating materials are arranged on the shelves as follows:

Stacks A - Z -- Upper Level
Curriculum Center - containing textbooks and children's literature -- Lower Level
AV Center -- Lower Level

Link to the Library Catalog from the library's home page http://library.sjfc.edu

Find books in Other Libraries by selecting Other Libraries from the library's home page.

Search the world for books by selecting WorldCat from the databases listed on the Research Databases web page.

To order a book from another library use the online Interlibrary Loan form, accessible from the library's home page http://library.sjfc.edu.

Back to top

FIND ARTICLES AND MORE
Lavery Library subscribes to an extensive collection of Research Databases that may be used to search for articles on your topic in periodicals, newspapers, and book chapters. Periodicals include both scholarly journals and popular magazines. When researching for courses in your major, it is usually recommended that you use scholarly articles, also referred to as peer-reviewed or refereed articles. Databases will often allow you to limit your search to scholarly articles.

If the article cited on the database that you are using does not appear in full-text on the database, check Periodical Holdings on the library's home page to determine if the periodical is either full-text on another database or available in hard copy in the library's collection.

Research Databases are listed both alphabetically and by subject on the library's home page. When starting research in Education, the following databases are recommended, in the following order:

Proquest Education Complete
Wilson Select Plus
ERIC
Mental Measurements
PsycINFO
Sociological Abstracts

Link to Subject Listing of databases available for  Education

Back to top

FIND WEBSITES
When using websites for research it is very important to evaluate their authority and content. Use the following checklist to evaluate sites before using them as references.

Evaluating Web Sites Checklist

Your Education liaison librarians, Diane Lucas and Kathi Sigler, have provided a list of quality websites for Education. They are available on the library's home page under Selected Websites or Education.

To search for additional websites, start with Google - http://www.google.com.

Back to top

Diane Lucas
Lavery Library
Kathi Sigler
Lavery Library