College
column spacer
    Lavery Library Spacer Spike Subject Guides Spacer Spike English Literature

INTRODUCTION

This subject guide covers comprehensive resources related to English Literature. Other related subject guides include: African American Studies, American Studies, European History, Religious Studies, and World History.

Back to top

FIND BACKGROUND INFORMATION
Reference Books are located on the Main Level of Lavery Library.

Reference books provide background information to help you understand your topic, narrow your topic, or prepare an outline of your topic. They also help define terms related to your topic, provide assistance in the selection of subject terms for your database searches, and contain factual information, such as, statistics, biographies, and maps.

Back to top

SELECTED PRINT REFERENCES SOURCES:

Encyclopedias and Dictionaries
PN44 .M3 1998 REF
Cyclopedia of Literary Characters

PR8706 .D5 1996 REF
Dictionary of Irish Literature

PS21 .E53 2002 REF
Encyclopedia of American Literature

PS323.5 .E53 2001 REF
Encyclopedia of American Poetry. The Twentieth Century

PN41 .E53 1998 REF
Encyclopedia of the Novel

PS21 .B46 2002 REF
HarperCollins Reader's Encyclopedia of American Literature

PS153 .M56 .I34 1997 REF
Identities and Issues in Literature

PS129 .M48 2001 REF
Merriam-Webster's Dictionary of American Writers

PN41 .M42 1995 REF
Merriam-Webster's Encyclopedia of Literature

PN43 .O94 2000 REF
The Oxford Dictionary of Phrase and Fable

PS21 .E537 2003 REF
The Oxford Encyclopedia of American Literature

Literature Companions and Guides
PR821 .O97 1998 REF
The Cambridge Guide to Fiction in English

PR85 .C29 1993 REF
The Cambridge Guide to Literature in English

PR111 .C353 1999 REF
The Cambridge Guide to Women's Writing in English

PS153 .N5 .E78 2004 REF
The Handbook of African American Literature

PS153 .H56 .K36 2003 REF
Hispanic Literature of the United States: A Comprehensive Reference

PR116 .M63 2002 REF
Modern British Women Writers: An A-to-Z Guide

PS153 .I52 .W47 1999 REF
Native American Literatures: An Encyclopedia of Works, Characters, Authors, and Themes

PS153 .N5 .O96 1997 REF
The Oxford Companion to African American Literature

PA31 .H69 1989 REF
The Oxford Companion to Classical Literature

PR19 .O94 2000 REF
The Oxford Companion to English Literature

PR8706 .O88 1996 REF
The Oxford Companion to Irish Literature

PR471 .O94 1996 REF
The Oxford Companion to Twentieth-Century Literature in English

PR85 .R42 1996 REF
Reader's Guide to Literature in English

PS129 .R44 2000 REF
Reference Guide to American Literature

PR56 .B34 2000 REF
A Research Guide for Undergraduate Students: English and American Literature

PR421 .G35 2004 REF
The Undergraduate's Companion to English Renaissance Writers and Their Web Sites

Poetry Companions and Indexes
PN1022 .G7 1994 REF
The Columbia Granger's Index to Poetry

PN1022 .H39 2002 REF
The Columbia Granger's Index to Poetry in Anthologies

PN1022 .C63 2004 REF
The Columbia Granger's Index to Poetry in Collected and Selected Works

PR601 .O9 1994 REF
The Oxford Companion to Twentieth-Century Poetry in English

Chronologies and History
PR25 .M67 2001 REF
British and Irish Literature and Its Times: Celtic Migrations to the Reform Bill (Beginnings - 1830s)

PR471 .M65 2001 REF
British and Irish Literature and Its Times: The Victorian Era to the Present (1837 - )

PS94 .C48 2004 REF
The Chronology of American Literature: America's Literary Achievements From the Colonial Era to Modern Times

PN50 .L574 1997 REF
Literature and Its Times: Profiles of 300 Notable Literary Works and the Historical Events That Influenced Them

PR87 .O94 2002 REF
The Oxford Chronology of English Literature

Bio-Bibliographies and Criticism
PS153 .N5 .A344 2001 REF
African American Writers

129 .A55 2003 REF
American Writers: A Collection of Literary Biographies

PS153 .A84 .A82 1999 REF
Asian American Literature: Reviews and Criticism of Works by American Writers of Asian Descent

PR85 .B688 REF
British Writers

PN610 .C53 REF
Classical and Medieval Literature Criticism

PS153 .M56 .C66 2004 REF
Contemporary American Ethnic Poets: Lives, Works, Sources

PN771 .C59 REF
Contemporary Literary Criticism

PR881 .C69 2001 REF
Contemporary Novelists

PR603 .C6 2001 REF
Contemporary Poets

PS151 .C67 1998 REF
Contemporary Women Poets

PN451 .M36 2003 REF
Cyclopedia of World Authors

PR8727 .G66 1997 REF
Modern Irish Writers: A Bio-Critical Sourcebook

PN1021 .W67 2000 REF
World Poets

PR9080.5 .W67 2004 REF
World Writers in English

Bibliographies
PR83 .H34 1998 REF
Literary Research Guide: An Annotated Listing of Reference Sources in English Literary Studies

Writing and Style Manuals
Z253 .U69 2003 REF
The Chicago Manual of Style

PN174 .T75 1999 REF
A Guide to MLA Documentation: With an Appendix on APA Style

LB2369 .G53 2003 REF
MLA Handbook for Writers of Research Papers

PN147 .G444 1998 REF
MLA Style Manual and Guide to Scholarly Publishing

LB2369 .L4 2005 REF
Writing Research Papers: A Complete Guide

Back to top

FIND BOOKS IN LAVERY LIBRARY AND BEYOND
The key to the library's extensive book collection is the Library Catalog. It may be searched by Author, Title, Subject, or Keyword. Subject headings are established by the Library of Congress. If you have any trouble selecting a Subject heading for your topic, try a Keyword search or check the listings in the Library of Congress Subject Headings red books (Z 695 .L69 2001 REF) in the Reference area near the main floor computers.

Subject Headings which may be useful to you for English Literature are:

African American Literature
American Literature
Classical Literature
English Essays
English Language
English Literature
English Poetry
Literature History and Criticism
Poetics
Poetry History and Criticism
[name of author such as Dickens Charles]

If you would like to browse in the English Literature section of the library, the main call numbers for English Literature are:

PN, PR, PS's

Circulating books are all located on the Upper Level.

Link to the Library Catalog from the library's home page http://library.sjfc.edu

Find books in Other Libraries by selecting Library Catalog from the library's home page, then select Other Library Catalogs.

Search the world for books by selecting WorldCat from the databases listed under Research Databases. From the library's home page, select Research Tools, select Research Databases, then select WorldCat from the alphabetized list.

To order a book from another library use the online Interlibrary Loan form, accessible from the library's home page http://library.sjfc.edu.

Back to top

FIND ARTICLES AND MORE
Lavery Library subscribes to an extensive collection of Research Databases that may be used to search for articles on your topic in periodicals, newspapers, and book chapters. Periodicals include both scholarly journals and popular magazines. When researching for courses in your major, it is usually recommended that you use scholarly articles, also referred to as peer reviewed or refereed articles. Databases will often allow you to limit your search to scholarly articles.

If the article cited on the database that you are using does not appear in full-text on the database, check Periodical Holdings to determine if the periodical is either full-text on another database or available in hard copy in the library's collection. From the library's home page, select Research Tools, then select Research Databases.

Research Databases are listed both alphabetically and by subject on the library's home page. When starting research in English Literature, the following databases are recommended:

Arts and Humanities Search
Expanded Academic Index
JSTOR
MLA
Project MUSE
ProQuest Research Library
Twayne's Author Series
Wilson Select Plus

Link to Subject Listing of databases available for Humanities & Art

Back to top

FIND WEBSITES
When using websites for research it is very important to evaluate their authority and content. Use the following checklist to evaluate sites before using them as references.

Evaluating Web Sites Checklist

Your liaison librarian has provided a list of quality websites for English Literature. They are available on the library's home page under Selected Websites.

To search for additional websites, start with Google - http://www.google.com.

Back to top

Prepared by Courtney Seymour, March 2005

Adam Traub
Lavery Library