College
column spacer
    Lavery Library Spacer Spike Subject Guides Spacer Spike French

INTRODUCTION

FIND BACKGROUND INFORMATION

SELECTED PRINT REFERENCE SOURCES

FIND BOOKS IN LAVERY LIBRARY AND BEYOND

FIND ARTICLES AND MORE

FIND WEBSITES

INTRODUCTION
This guide introduces French language resources. Most French language materials are classed in PC. Most French literature materials will be classed in PQ. For additional research help, contact the Reference Desk at 385-8141.

Back to top

FIND BACKGROUND INFORMATION
Reference Books are located on the Main Level of Lavery Library.

Reference books provide background information to help you understand your topic, narrow your topic, or prepare an outline of your topic. They also help define terms related to your topic, provide assistance in the selection of subject terms for your database searches, and contain factual information, such as, statistics, biographies, and maps.

Back to top

SELECTED PRINT REFERENCES SOURCES:

Guides to French Literature
PQ41.B4 1984 REF
Dictionnaire des littératures de langue française

PQ41.D65 1986 REF
Dictionary of Modern French literature. From the Age of Reason through Realism

PQ41.N48 1995 REF
The New Oxford Companion to literature in French

PQ226.L48 1992 REF
Guide to French literature

PQ305.B54 1962 REF
Dictionnaire de littérature contemporaine

Literary Criticism
PQ119.N48 1986 REF
A New History of French Literature

PQ655.N56 1992 REF
Dictionary of Literary Biography. Romanticism and Realism,1800-1860

PQ661.N56 1992 REF
Nineteenth-Century French Fiction Writers: Naturalism and Beyond, 1860-1900

PQ671.F69 1989 REF
Dictionary of Literary Biography. Vol.83. French Novelists since 1960

Encyclopedias
PC2625.R53 1987u REF
Petit Robert 2. Dictionnaire universel des noms propres

PN41.C3 1973 REF
Cassel's Encyclopedia of World Literature

Dictionaries
PC2591.B37 1993 REF
Using French Synonyms

PC2625.R553 1967 REF
Petit Robert

PC2640.G68 1993 REF
Larousse French-English and English-French Dictionary

PC2640.H27 1990 REF
Harper Collins French English French Dictionary

PC2640.H317 1980 REF
Harrap's New Standard French and English Dictionary

Handbooks
D2.E8 2002 REF
The Europa World Year Book

Atlases
G1844.21.E64 A7 1991 REF
Cultural Atlas of France

Biographies
PL8010.A453 1997 REF
African Writers

PN41.B4 1996 REF
Benet's Readers Encyclopedia

PN451.C93 1989 REF
Encyclopedia of World Authors

PN451.W67 1996 REF
World Authors, 1900-1950

PN501.E9 1990 REF
European Writers. From the Middle Ages to the Twentieth Century

PN1995.9.P7S75 1997 REF
Eye on the World: Conversations with International Filmmakers

PN1998.2.T49 1994 REF
Biographical Dictionary of Film

Writing and Style Manuals
LB 2369.G53 1999 c. 3 REF
MLA Handbook

Back to top

FIND BOOKS IN LAVERY LIBRARY AND BEYOND
The key to the library's extensive book collection is the Library Catalog. It may be searched by Author, Title, Subject, or Keyword. Subject headings are established by the Library of Congress. If you have any trouble selecting a Subject heading for your topic, try a Keyword search or check the listings in the Library of Congress Subject Headings red books (Z 695 .L69 2001 REF) in the Reference area near the main floor computers.

Subject Headings which may be useful to you for French are:

France - Antiquities
France - Civilization
France - History
France - Literatures
France - Social Conditions
France – Social Life and Customs
French Drama
French Fiction
French Language
French Literature
French Poetry
Art, French

Most French language materials are classed in PC. Most French literature materials will be classed in PQ.

Circulating books are all located on the Upper Level.

Link to the Library Catalog from the library's home page http://library.sjfc.edu

Find books in Other Libraries by selecting Other Libraries from the library's home page.

Search the world for books by selecting WorldCat from the databases listed on the Research Databases web page.

To order a book from another library use the online Interlibrary Loan form, accessible from the library's home page http://library.sjfc.edu.

Back to top

FIND ARTICLES AND MORE
Lavery Library subscribes to an extensive collection of Research Databases that may be used to search for articles on your topic in periodicals, newspapers, and book chapters. Periodicals include both scholarly journals and popular magazines. When researching for courses in your major, it is usually recommended that you use scholarly articles, also referred to as peer reviewed or refereed articles. Databases will often allow you to limit your search to scholarly articles.

If the article cited on the database that you are using does not appear in full-text on the database, check Periodical Holdings on the library's home page to determine if the periodical is either full-text on another database or available in hard copy in the library's collection.

Research Databases are listed both alphabetically and by subject on the library's home page. When starting research in French, the following databases are recommended:

France
French Forum
French Review
Yale French Studies

Research Databases are listed both alphabetically and by subject on the library's home page. When starting research in Humanities and Art, the following databases are recommended:

MLA Bibliography
Arts and Humanities Search
Dissertations
Lexis-Nexis Academic Universe

Link to Subject Listing of databases available for Humanities and Art

Back to top

FIND WEBSITES
When using websites for research it is very important to evaluate their authority and content. Use the following checklist to evaluate sites before using them as references.

Evaluating Web Sites Checklist

Your liaison librarian has provided a list of quality websites for French resources. They are available on the library's home page under "Selected Websites". Select Languages, then select French Sites .

To search for additional websites, start with Google - http://www.google.com.

Back to top

Melissa Jadlos
Lavery Library