College
column spacer
    Lavery Library Spacer Spike Subject Guides Spacer SpikeGerman

INTRODUCTION

FIND BACKGROUND INFORMATION

SELECTED PRINT REFERENCE SOURCES

FIND BOOKS IN LAVERY LIBRARY AND BEYOND

FIND ARTICLES AND MORE

FIND WEBSITES

INTRODUCTION
This subject guide covers comprehensive resources related to German Language, Literature, History, and Culture. Other related subject guides include: European History, World History.

Back to top

FIND BACKGROUND INFORMATION
Reference Books are located on the Main Level of Lavery Library.

Reference books provide background information to help you understand your topic, narrow your topic, or prepare an outline of your topic. They also help define terms related to your topic, provide assistance in the selection of subject terms for your database searches, and contain factual information, such as, statistics, biographies, and maps.

Back to top

SELECTED PRINT REFERENCES SOURCES:

Encyclopedias and Dictionaries
DD175 .K57 2002 REF
Cassell's Dictionary of Modern German History

DD290.26 .E53 1999 REF
Encyclopedia of Contemporary German Culture

PT91 .E53 2000 REF
Encyclopedia of German Literature

PN41 .E53 1998 REF
Encyclopedia of the Novel

DD256.5 .G76313 1991 REF
Encyclopedia of the Third Reich

DD14 .M64 1998 REF
Modern Germany: An Encyclopedia of History, People, and Culture, 1871-1990

Grammar Guides and Dictionaries
PF3271 .S85 REF
501 German Verbs, Fully Conjugated in all the Tenses, Alphabetically Arranged

PF3689 .P43 REF
Basic (Spoken) German Idiom List: Grindstufe

PF3640 .C68 1993 REF
Collins German-English, English-German Dictionary: Unabridged

PF3591 .F37 1977 REF
Dictionary of German Synonyms

PF3137 .D8 REF
Duden Ausspracheworterbuch

PF5991 .K86 REF
Handliches Worterbuch der Deutschen Alltagssprache

PF3640 .L234 1987 REF
Langenscheidt's Pocket German Dictionary. German-English, English-German.

PF3146 .D72 1967 REF
Rechtschreibung der Deutschen Sprache und der Fremdworter

Literature Companions, Guides & Criticism
PN610 .C53 REF
Classical and Medieval Literature Criticism

Z2483 .S444 2003 REF
The Columbia Guide to the Literatures of Eastern Europe Since 1945

PN771 .C59 REF
Contemporary Literary Criticism

PN1993.5 .G3 .F435 1993 REF
Der Film der Weimarer Republik: ein Handbuch der Zeitgenossischen Kritik

PT401 .D6 REF
Modern German Literature

PT41 .G3 1997 REF
The Oxford Companion to German Literature

Yearbooks
D2 .E8 2004 REF
The Europa World Year Book

JA51 .S7 2005 REF
The Statesman's Year-book

G103 .W67 2004 REF
The World Factbook

Bio-bibliographies
PT772 .C593 1988 REF
Contemporary German Fiction Writers

PR881 .C69 2001 REF
Contemporary Novelists

PR603 .C6 2001 REF
Contemporary Poets

PN451 .M36 2003 REF
Cyclopedia of World Authors

Histories
DD290.25 .O85 1992 REF
German Reunification: A Reference Guide and Commentary

DD256.5 .H529 2003 REF
A History of the Third Reich

Writing and Style Manuals
PN174 .T75 1999 REF
A Guide to MLA Documentation: With an Appendix on APA Style

LB2369 .G53 2003 REF
MLA Handbook for Writers of Research Papers

PN147 .G444 1998 REF
MLA Style Manual and Guide to Scholarly Publishing

LB2369 .L4 2005 REF
Writing Research Papers: A Complete Guide

Back to top

FIND BOOKS IN LAVERY LIBRARY AND BEYOND
The key to the library's extensive book collection is the Library Catalog. It may be searched by Author, Title, Subject, or Keyword. Subject headings are established by the Library of Congress. If you have any trouble selecting a Subject heading for your topic, try a Keyword search or check the listings in the Library of Congress Subject Headings red books (Z 695 .L69 2001 REF) in the Reference area near the main floor computers.

Subject Headings which may be useful to you for German are:

Germany Civilization
Germany History
Germany Social Conditions
Germany Social Life and Customs
German Drama
German Fiction
German Language
German Literature
German Poetry
Art German

If you wold like to browse in the German Language, Literature, History, and Culture sections of the library, the main call numbers are:

German Language PFs
German Literature PTs
German History and Culture DDs

Circulating books are all located on the Upper Level.

Link to the Library Catalog from the library's home page http://library.sjfc.edu

Find books in Other Libraries by selecting Other Libraries from the library's home page.

Search the world for books by selecting WorldCat from the databases listed on the Research Databases web page.

To order a book from another library use the online Interlibrary Loan form, accessible from the library's home page http://library.sjfc.edu.

Back to top

FIND ARTICLES AND MORE
Lavery Library subscribes to an extensive collection of Research Databases that may be used to search for articles on your topic in periodicals, newspapers, and book chapters. Periodicals include both scholarly journals and popular magazines. When researching for courses in your major, it is usually recommended that you use scholarly articles, also referred to as peer reviewed or refereed articles. Databases will often allow you to limit your search to scholarly articles.

If the article cited on the database that you are using does not appear in full-text on the database, check Periodical Holdings on the library's home page to determine if the periodical is either full-text on another database or available in hard copy in the library's collection.

Research Databases are listed both alphabetically and by subject on the library's home page. When starting research in German Language, Literature, History, and Culture, the following databases are recommended:

Arts and Humanities Search
JSTOR
LexisNexis Academic
MLA
Project MUSE

Link to Subject Listing of databases available for Humanities and Art

Back to top

FIND WEBSITES
When using websites for research it is very important to evaluate their authority and content. Use the following checklist to evaluate sites before using them as references.

Evaluating Web Sites Checklist

Your liaison librarian has provided a list of quality websites for German Language, Literature, History, and Culture. They are available on the library's home page under "Selected Websites". Select Languages, then select German Sites.

To search for additional websites, start with Google - http://www.google.com.

Back to top

Prepared by Courtney Seymour, March 2005

Melissa Jadlos
Lavery Library