|
INTRODUCTION
This subject guide covers comprehensive resources related to topics in Gerontology.
Other related subject guides include: Biology, Nursing, Psychology, and Sociology.
FIND BACKGROUND INFORMATION
Reference Books are located on the Main Level of Lavery Library.
Reference books provide background information to help you understand your topic, narrow your topic, or prepare an outline of your topic. They also help define terms related to your topic, provide assistance in the selection of subject terms for your database searches, and contain factual information, such as, statistics, biographies, and maps.
SELECTED PRINT REFERENCES SOURCES:
Encyclopedias and Dictionaries
HV1461 .F45 1997 REF
Dictionary of Eldercare Terminology
HQ1061 .E534 2002 REF
Encyclopedia of Aging
HQ1061 .E53 2001 REF
The Encyclopedia of Aging: A Comprehensive Resource in Gerontology and Geriatrics
HQ1073 .E543 2001 REF
Encyclopedia of Death and Dying
RC954 .E53 2001 REF
The Encyclopedia of Elder Care: The Comprehensive Resource on Geriatric and Social Care
HQ1061 .E54 1996 REF
The Encyclopedia of Financial Gerontology
RC952.5 .E58 1996 REF
Encyclopedia of Gerontology: Age, Aging, and the Aged
HV1461 .E5 1995 REF
The Encyclopedia of Home Care for the Elderly
HQ1064 .U5 .E524 2003 REF
Encyclopedia of Retirement and Finance
HV35 .S6 1995 REF
Encyclopedia of Social Work
HM425 .E5 2000 REF
Encyclopedia of Sociology
HQ1064 .U5 .K39 1996 REF
The Graying of America: An Encyclopedia of Aging, Health, Mind, and Behavior
HQ1073 .M33 2003 REF
Macmillan Encyclopedia of Death and Dying
Handbooks, Sourcebooks, and Almanacs
HQ1073.5 .U6 .A53 1991 REF
Affairs in Order: A Complete Resource Guide to Death and Dying
HQ1064 .U5 .A6365 1998 REF
Aging Sourcebook
R726.8 .D3785 2000 REF
Death and Dying Sourcebook: Basic Consumer Health Information for the Layperson
About End-of-life Care and Related Ethical and Legal Issues
RC537.5 .D46 .M56 1997 REF
Depression in the Elderly: A Multimedia Sourcebook
HQ1073 .H36 2003 REF
Handbook of Death and Dying
RC953 .G34 1995 REF
Handbook of Geriatric Assessment
RC953.7 .H36 2000 REF
Handbook of Geriatric Drug Therapy
RC954 .H33 2003 REF
Handbook of Geriatric Nursing Care
QP86 .H35 1996 REF
Handbook of the Biology of Aging
RA777.6 .H427 1999 REF
Healthy Aging Sourcebook
RC952.55 .M47 2000 REF
The Merck Manual of Geriatrics
RM301.12 .M37 1999 REF
Mosby's Home Care & Hospice Drug Handbook
HQ1064 .U5 .O416 1994 REF
Older Americans Almanac: A Reference Work on Seniors in the United States
RC952.5 .P48 1999 REF
Physical and Mental Issues in Aging Sourcebook
Statistical Sources
RA564.8 .V54 2003 REF
Aging: Demographics, Health, and Health Services
HQ1064 .U5 .A6455 2001 REF
Americans 55 & Older: A Changing Market
RA445 .W45 2000 REF
Best of Health: Demographics of Health Care Consumers
RA395 .A4 .N7487 REF
New York State Managed Care Plan Performance
RA410.53 .P67 2001 REF
Portrait of Health in the United States
HA202 REF
Statistical Abstract of the United States
HQ1064 .U5 .S695 1994 REF
Statistical Handbook on Aging Americans
HQ1064 .U5 .S697 1996 REF
Statistical Record of Older Americans
HA12.5 .U63 REF
Statistical Yearbook
Histories
R726 .R498 1999 REF
The Right to Die Debate: A Documentary History
Bibliographies
HV1461 .G5 1993 REF
Gerontological Social Work: An Annotated Bibliography
HQ1064 .U5 .W4 1997 REF
Women & Aging: A Guide to the Literature
Directories
HV1457 .D53 1996 REF
Directory of Aging Resources
Writing and Style Manuals
Z253 .U69 REF
The Chicago Manual of Style
LB2369 .G53 REF
MLA Handbook for Writers of Research Papers
BF76.7 .P83 2001 REF
Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association
FIND BOOKS IN LAVERY LIBRARY AND BEYOND
The key to the library's extensive book collection is the Library Catalog. It may be searched by Author, Title, Subject, or Keyword. Subject headings are established by the Library of Congress. If you have any trouble selecting a Subject heading for your topic, try a Keyword search or check the listings in the Library of Congress Subject Headings red books (Z 695 .L69 2001 REF) in the Reference area near the main floor computers.
Subject Headings which may be useful to you for Gerontology are:
Aged (narrower topics include Aged Abuse of, Aged Psychology, and Aged Social Conditions)
Aged Men
Aged Women
Aging (narrower topics include Aging Physiological Aspects and Aging Physiology)
Caregivers
Death
Depression in Old Age
Geriatrics
Gerontology
Health Services for the Aged
Home Care Services
Longevity
Nursing Homes
Old Age
Older People
Social Work With the Aged
If you would like to browse in the Gerontology section of the library, the main call numbers for Gerontology are: HQ, HV, R, RA, RC's
Circulating books are all located on the Upper Level.
Link to the Library Catalog from the library's home page http://library.sjfc.edu
Find books in Other Libraries by selecting Library Catalog from the library's home page,
then select Other Library Catalogs.
Search the world for books by selecting WorldCat from the databases listed under Research Databases. From the library's
home page, select Research Tools, select Research Databases, then select WorldCat from the alphabetized list.
To order a book from another library use the online Interlibrary Loan form, accessible from the library's home page http://library.sjfc.edu.
FIND ARTICLES AND MORE
Lavery Library subscribes to an extensive collection of Research Databases that may be used to search for articles on your topic in periodicals, newspapers, and book chapters. Periodicals include both scholarly journals and popular magazines. When researching for courses in your major, it is usually recommended that you use scholarly articles, also referred to as peer reviewed or refereed articles. Databases will often allow you to limit your search to scholarly articles.
If the article cited on the database that you are using does not appear in full-text on the database, check Periodical Holdings to determine if the periodical is either
full-text on another database or available in hard copy in the library's collection.
From the library's home page, select Research Tools, then select
Research Databases.
Research Databases are listed both alphabetically and by subject on the library's home page. When starting research in Gerontology, the following databases are recommended:
CINAHL
Expanded Academic Index
Health & Wellness Resource Center
PsycINFO
ProQuest Research Library
Sociological Abstracts
Link to Subject Listing of databases available for
Social Sciences
and Nursing, Medicine & Health.
FIND WEBSITES
When using websites for research it is very important to evaluate their authority and content. Use the following checklist to evaluate sites before using them as references.
Evaluating Web Sites Checklist
Your liaison librarian has provided a list of quality websites for Gerontology. They are available on the library's home page under Selected Websites.
To search for additional websites, start with Google - http://www.google.com.
Prepared by Courtney Seymour, March 2005
|
Melissa Jadlos
|
Lavery Library
|
|
|