|
INTRODUCTION
This subject guide covers comprehensive resources related to International Studies.
It necessarily covers a wide range of subjects not limited to Anthropology, Political
Science, Economics, Languages, History, and Business. More information on these topics
can be found by accessing the list of Subject Guides by Topic.
FIND BACKGROUND INFORMATION
Reference Books are located on the Main Level of Lavery Library.
Reference books provide background information to help you understand your topic, narrow your topic, or prepare an outline of your topic. They also help define terms related to your topic, provide assistance in the selection of subject terms for your database searches, and contain factual information, such as, statistics, biographies, and maps.
SELECTED PRINT REFERENCES SOURCES:
Encyclopedias
JC571 .E67 1996 REF
Encyclopedia of Human Rights
GN307 .E527 1996 REF
Encyclopedia of Social and Cultural Anthropology
HM425 .E5 2000 REF
Encyclopedia of Sociology
KZ4968 .O84 2003 REF
Encyclopedia of the United Nations and International Agreements
GN307 .E53 REF
Encyclopedia of World Cultures
D21 .E577 2000 REF
Encyclopedia of World History
HM291 .E625 1999 REF
Encyclopedia of Violence, Peace, & Conflict
HD62.4 .I38 1999 REF
The IEBM Handbook of International Business
HC15 .O94 2003 REF
The Oxford Encyclopedia of Economic History
BL80.3 .R45 2002 REF
Religions of the World: A Comprehensive Encyclopeda of Beliefs and Practices
GN333 .W67 1998 REF
Worldmark Encyclopedia of Cultures and Daily Life
Dictionaries
GN307 .D485 1997 REF
Dictionary of Anthropology
P371 .D35 1998 REF
Dictionary of Languages: The Definitive Reference To More Than 400 Languages
GN495.6 .D53 2003 REF
Dictionary of Race, Ethnicity and Culture
D419 .K87 2002 REF
Dictionary of World Politics
Handbooks, Guides, and Almanacs
GN307 .C68 2001 REF
Countries and Their Cultures
GN325 .L46 1998 REF
Ethnic Groups Worldwide: A Ready Reference Handbook
D2 .E8 2004 REF
The Europa World Year Book
HF1746 .H36 1999 REF
Handbook of North American Industry: NAFTA and the Economies of Its Member Nations
K3240.4 .H847 1999
Human Rights: The Essential Reference
JC571 .H783 2003 REF
Human Rights Violations
JA61 .O95 2001 REF
The Oxford Companion to Politics of the World
GN316 .R37 2000 REF
Social and Cultural Anthropology: The Key Concepts
JA51 .S7 2005 REF
The Statesman's Year-book
JZ1242 .W67 2002 REF
World at Risk: A Global Issues Sourcebook
HC59.15 .W656 REF
World Development Indicators
HC10 .W7979 REF
World Economic Outlook
G103 .W67 2004 REF
The World Factbook
HF1371 .W67 REF
World Trade Almanac
Biographies
D21.3 .W485 1999 REF
Who's Who in Political Revolutions: Seventy-three Men and Women Who Changed
the World
Directories
HD2755.5 .D57 2001 REF
Directory of Multinationals: The World's Largest Global Enterprises
HE7771 .F39 2002 REF
FaxUSA 2002: A Directory of Facsimile Numbers for Businesses and Organizations
Nationwide
Statistical Sources
HC101 .A13122 REF
Business Statistics of the United States
HC103 .R64 1998 REF
Handbook of Key Economic Indicators
HF91 .U473 REF
International Trade Statistics Yearbook
HA202 REF
Statistical Abstract of the United States
HA12.5 .U63 REF
Statistical Yearbook
HC59.15 .W656 REF
World Development Indicators
Histories
D20 .H56 2000 REF
History in Dispute
D860 .W64 2000 REF
World Conflicts and Confrontations
HC21 .M285 2001 REF
The World Economy: A Millennial Perspective
Atlases
BL85 .A7 1999 REF
Atlas of the World's Religions
Bibliographies
JC571 .H837 2000 REF
Human Rights: A Bibliography
Indexes
E839.5 .H57 REF
Historic Documents Index, 1972-2002
Writing and Style Manuals
Z253 .U69 REF
The Chicago Manual of Style
LB2369 .G53 REF
MLA Handbook for Writers of Research Papers
Periodicals
GT150 .C85 2003 REF
Culturgrams: The Nations Around Us
HC106.5 .A272 REF
Economic Report of the President Transmitted to the Congress
JC571 .H785 1997 REF
Human Rights Watch World Report
HC10 .O6 REF
OECD Economic Surveys
HC59.15 .W672 REF
World Economic Situation and Prospects
FIND BOOKS IN LAVERY LIBRARY AND BEYOND
The key to the library's extensive book collection is the Library Catalog. It may be searched by Author, Title, Subject, or Keyword. Subject headings are established by the Library of Congress. If you have any trouble selecting a Subject heading for your topic, try a Keyword search or check the listings in the Library of Congress Subject Headings red books (Z 695 .L69 2001 REF) in the Reference area near the main floor computers.
Subject Headings which may be useful to you for International Studies are:
Anthropology
Competition International
Cross-cultural Studies
Diplomacy
Economic Policy
Economics
Ethnology
Foreign Policy
Geography
Human Rights
Intercultural Communication
International Business Enterprises
International Economic Relations
Social History
Social Problems
World History
World Politics
If you would like to browse in the International Studies-related sections of the library,
the main call numbers are:
Religions: BL's
History (General): D's
Anthropology: GN's
Economic History and Conditions: HC's
Commerce: HF's
Sociology (General): HM's
Political Science (General): JA's
Political Theory (including Human Rights): JC's
Linguistics: P's
Circulating books are all located on the Upper Level.
Link to the Library Catalog from the library's home page http://library.sjfc.edu
Find books in Other Libraries by selecting Library Catalog from the library's home page,
then select Other Library Catalogs.
Search the world for books by selecting WorldCat from the databases listed under Research Databases. From the library's
home page, select Research Tools, select Research Databases, then select WorldCat from the alphabetized list.
To order a book from another library use the online Interlibrary Loan form, accessible from the library's home page http://library.sjfc.edu.
FIND ARTICLES AND MORE
Lavery Library subscribes to an extensive collection of Research Databases that may be used to search for articles on your topic in periodicals, newspapers, and book chapters. Periodicals include both scholarly journals and popular magazines. When researching for courses in your major, it is usually recommended that you use scholarly articles, also referred to as peer reviewed or refereed articles. Databases will often allow you to limit your search to scholarly articles.
If the article cited on the database that you are using does not appear in full-text on the database, check Periodical Holdings to determine if the periodical is either
full-text on another database or available in hard copy in the library's collection.
From the library's home page, select Research Tools, then select
Research Databases.
Research Databases are listed both alphabetically and by subject on the library's home page. When starting research in International Studies, the following databases are recommended:
eHRAF Collection of Ethnography
JSTOR
LexisNexis Academic
PAIS International
ProQuest Research Library
Sociological Abstracts
Link to Subject Listing of databases available for Social Sciences
FIND WEBSITES
When using websites for research it is very important to evaluate their authority and content. Use the following checklist to evaluate sites before using them as references.
Evaluating Web Sites Checklist
Your liaison librarian has provided a list of quality websites for International Studies. They are available on the library's home page under Selected Websites.
To search for additional websites, start with Google - http://www.google.com.
Prepared by Courtney Seymour, March 2005
|
Nancy Greco
|
Lavery Library
|
|
|