College
column spacer
    Lavery Library Spacer Spike Subject Guides Spacer Spike Journalism

INTRODUCTION

This subject guide covers comprehensive resources related to topics in Journalism. Other related subject guides include: Communications.

Back to top

FIND BACKGROUND INFORMATION
Reference Books are located on the Main Level of Lavery Library.

Reference books provide background information to help you understand your topic, narrow your topic, or prepare an outline of your topic. They also help define terms related to your topic, provide assistance in the selection of subject terms for your database searches, and contain factual information, such as, statistics, biographies, and maps.

Back to top

SELECTED PRINT REFERENCES SOURCES:

Encyclopedias
HF5803 .A3 2003 REF
The Advertising Age Encyclopedia of Advertising

QA76.575 .E5368 2003 REF
Encyclopedia of New Media: An Essential Reference to Communication and Technology

PN4888 .T4 .E53 1999 REF
Encyclopedia of Television News

PN1992.18 .L33 2003 REF
The Encyclopedia of 20th-Century American Television

PN4728 .Q53 2003 REF
World Press Encyclopedia: A Survey of Press Systems Worldwide

Dictionaries
P87.5 .W45 1996 REF
Webster's New World Dictionary of Media and Communications

PE1116 .J6 .B7 REF
Words on Words: A Dictionary for Writers and Others Who Care About Words

Handbooks and Guides
PN4783 .K35 2001 REF
Associated Press Broadcast News Handbook

P96 .C42 .U654 1998 REF
Banned in the Media: A Reference Guide to Censorship in the Press, Motion Pictures, Broadcasting, and the Internet

HV7240 .C6 2000 REF
Covering Criminal Justice: A Resource Guide for Journalists

Bibliographies
PN4731 .S54 1989 REF
Journalism: A Guide to the Reference Literature

Periodicals
American Journalism Review: AJR
Broadcasting
Columbia Journalism Review
Film Quarterly
Journal of Media Economics
Journalism and Mass Communication Educator
Journalism and Mass Communication Quarterly
The Journalism Educator
Journalism History
The Journalism Quarterly
Mediaweek
Television and New Media
Television Quarterly
Television/Radio Age
Washington Journalism Review

Biographies
PN4871 .A47 REF
American Magazine Journalists

PN4871 .A48 REF
American Newspaper Journalists

PN4871 .B56 1989 REF
Biographical Dictionary of American Journalism

Statistical Sources

HA202 REF
Statistical Abstract of the United States

HA12.5 .U63 REF
Statistical Yearbook

Writing and Style Manuals
PN4783 .C283 1991 REF
The Associated Press Guide to News Writing

PN4783 .A83 2002 REF
Associated Press Stylebook and Briefing on Media Law: With Internet Guide and Glossary

PN4783 .W26 2002 REF
Guide to Business Style and Usage

PN4783 .S57 1999 REF
The New York Times Manual of Style and Usage

BF76.7 .P83 REF
Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association

PN4784 .S6 .S66 1996 REF
Sports Style Guide & Reference Manual: The Complete Reference for Sports Editors, Writers and Broadcasters

PN4783 .M47 1992 REF
UPI Stylebook: The Authoritative Handbook for Writers, Editors & News Directors

Back to top

FIND BOOKS IN LAVERY LIBRARY AND BEYOND
The key to the library's extensive book collection is the Library Catalog. It may be searched by Author, Title, Subject, or Keyword. Subject headings are established by the Library of Congress. If you have any trouble selecting a Subject heading for your topic, try a Keyword search or check the listings in the Library of Congress Subject Headings red books (Z 695 .L69 2001 REF) in the Reference area near the main floor computers.

Subject Headings which may be useful to you for Journalism are:

Broadcasting
Communication [more narrow topic: Written Communication]
Journalism [more narrow topics include Broadcast Journalism and Photojournalism] Mass Media
Newspapers
Public Opinion
[name of topic such as Freedom of the Press or Propaganda]

If you would like to browse in the Journalism section of the library, the main call numbers for Journalism are:

PN's

Keep in mind that this particular field of study covers a variety of subject areas. Journalism texts are found in many sections of the library. For best results, search the collection in the Library Catalog.

Circulating books are all located on the Upper Level.

Link to the Library Catalog from the library's home page http://library.sjfc.edu

Find books in Other Libraries by selecting Library Catalog from the library's home page, then select Other Library Catalogs.

Search the world for books by selecting WorldCat from the databases listed under Research Databases. From the library's home page, select Research Tools, select Research Databases, then select WorldCat from the alphabetized list.

To order a book from another library use the online Interlibrary Loan form, accessible from the library's home page http://library.sjfc.edu.

Back to top

FIND ARTICLES AND MORE
Lavery Library subscribes to an extensive collection of Research Databases that may be used to search for articles on your topic in periodicals, newspapers, and book chapters. Periodicals include both scholarly journals and popular magazines. When researching for courses in your major, it is usually recommended that you use scholarly articles, also referred to as peer reviewed or refereed articles. Databases will often allow you to limit your search to scholarly articles.

If the article cited on the database that you are using does not appear in full-text on the database, check Periodical Holdings to determine if the periodical is either full-text on another database or available in hard copy in the library's collection. From the library's home page, select Research Tools, then select Research Databases.

Research Databases are listed both alphabetically and by subject on the library's home page. When starting research in Journalism, the following databases are recommended:

AltPressIndex
Communication & Mass Media Complete
CQ Researcher
Expanded Academic Index
JSTOR
LexisNexis Academic
Media Review Digest
ProQuest Historical Newspapers
ProQuest Newspapers
ProQuest Research Library

Link to Subject Listing of databases available for Communication & Journalism

Back to top

FIND WEBSITES
When using websites for research it is very important to evaluate their authority and content. Use the following checklist to evaluate sites before using them as references.

Evaluating Web Sites Checklist

Your liaison librarian has provided a list of quality websites for Communications & Journalism. They are available on the library's home page under Selected Websites.

To search for additional websites, start with Google - http://www.google.com.

Back to top

Prepared by Courtney Seymour, March 2005
Updated: syslib, March 2005

Nancy Greco
Lavery Library