|
Subject Guides
Latin American History
|
SELECTED PRINT REFERENCE SOURCES FIND BOOKS IN LAVERY LIBRARY AND BEYOND INTRODUCTION FIND BACKGROUND INFORMATION Reference books provide background information to help you understand your topic, narrow your topic, or prepare an outline of your topic. They also help define terms related to your topic, provide assistance in the selection of subject terms for your database searches, and contain factual information, such as, statistics, biographies, and maps. SELECTED PRINT REFERENCES SOURCES: Literature and Research Guides Encyclopedias F1406.L38 1999 REF F1218.6.095 2001 REF Dictionaries F1204.M955 1999 REF Handbooks Atlases Biographies F1407.A33 1991 REF FIND BOOKS IN LAVERY LIBRARY AND BEYOND Subject Headings which may be useful to you for Latin American History are: Latin America--History Search by NAME of country such as: Cuba--History If you would like to browse in the Latin American history section of the library, the main call numbers are: F12's and F14's
Circulating books are all located on the Upper Level. Link to the Library Catalog from the library's home page http://library.sjfc.edu Find books in Other Libraries by selecting Library Catalog from the library's home page,
then select Other Library Catalogs. Search the world for books by selecting WorldCat from the databases listed under Research Databases. From the library's home page, select Research Tools, select Research Databases, then select WorldCat from the alphabetized list. To order a book from another library use the online Interlibrary Loan form, accessible from the library's home page http://library.sjfc.edu. FIND ARTICLES AND MORE
If the article cited on the database that you are using does not appear in full-text on the database, check Periodical Holdings to determine if the periodical is either
full-text on another database or available in hard copy in the library's collection.
From the library's home page, select Research Tools, then select
Research Databases. Research Databases are listed both alphabetically and by subject on the library's home page. When starting research in Latin American History, the following databases are recommended: Historical Abstracts Link to Subject Listing of databases available for Humanities and Art FIND WEBSITES Evaluating Web Sites Checklist Your liaison librarian has provided a list of quality websites for Latin American History. They are available on the library's home page under Selected Websites. From the library's home page, select Internet Resources,
then Selected Websites, then History. From History, select World History, then select Latin America. To search for additional websites, start with Google - http://www.google.com.
|