College
column spacer
    Lavery Library Spacer Spike Subject Guides Spacer Spike Mental Health Counseling

INTRODUCTION

FIND BACKGROUND INFORMATION

SELECTED PRINT REFERENCE SOURCES

FIND BOOKS IN LAVERY LIBRARY AND BEYOND

FIND ARTICLES AND MORE

FIND WEBSITES

INTRODUCTION
This subject guide covers library resources in Mental Health Counseling and related social science disciplines.

Back to top

FIND BACKGROUND INFORMATION
Reference Books are located on the Main Level of Lavery Library.

Reference books provide background information to help you understand your topic, narrow your topic, or prepare an outline of your topic. They also help define terms related to your topic, provide assistance in the selection of subject terms for your database searches, and contain factual information, such as, statistics, biographies, and maps.

Back to top

SELECTED PRINT REFERENCES SOURCES:

Literature and Research Guides
BF76.7 .P83 2001 REF
Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association

BF76.8 .S73 2003 REF
The Psychologist's Companion: A Guide to Scientific Writing for Students and Researchers

BF80.3 .V53 2000 REF
Videos in Psychology: A Resource Directory

Encyclopedias
H41 .I58 2001 REF
International Encyclopedia of the Social and Behavioral Sciences

HV35 .S6 2003 REF
Encyclopedia of Social Work

RC437 .K34 2001 REF
The Encyclopedia of Mental Health

BF31 .G35 2001 REF
The Gale Encyclopedia of Psychology

RC437 .G35 2003 REF
The Gale Encyclopedia of Mental Disorders

BF31 .M33 2003 REF
Magill's Encyclopedia of Social Science: Psychology

Dictionaries
BF31 .R43 2001 REF
The Penguin Dictionary of Psychology

Handbooks
RC454 .P7816 2003 REF
Psychiatry 2nd Edition

RJ499.3 .H363 2004 REF
Handbook of Interventions That Work With Children and Adolescents: Prevention and Treatment

BF637 .C6 H315 2000 REF
Handbook of Counseling Psychology

RC466 .M464 2001 REF
The Mental Health Desk Reference

RC454.4 .M4595 2001 REF
The Mental Health Resource Guide

RC437.2 .G76 2004 REF
The Insider's Guide to Mental Health Resources Online

RC455.2 .C4 D536 2000 REF
DSM-IV-TR Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders

Statistical Sources
RA445 .W45 2000 REF
Best of Health: Demographics and Health Care Consumers

Back to top

FIND BOOKS IN LAVERY LIBRARY AND BEYOND
The key to the library's extensive book collection is the Library Catalog. It may be searched by Author, Title, Subject, or Keyword. Subject headings are established by the Library of Congress. If you have any trouble selecting a Subject heading for your topic, try a Keyword search or check the listings in the Library of Congress Subject Headings red books (Z 695 .L69 2001 REF) in the Reference area near the main floor computers.

Subject Headings which may be useful to you for Mental Health Counseling include:

Counseling
Counselor and client
Health behavior
Medicine and psychology
Human behavior
Clinical health psychology
Mental health
Mental health counseling
Mental illness

If you would like to browse in the library for mental health and counseling-related books, the main call numbers begin with: BF   HV   RC   RJ.

Circulating books are all located on the Upper Level.

Link to the Library Catalog from the library's home page http://library.sjfc.edu

Find books in Other Libraries by selecting Library Catalog from the library's home page, then select Other Library Catalogs.

Search the world for books by selecting WorldCat from the databases listed under Research Databases.

To order a book from another library use the online Interlibrary Loan form, accessible from the library's home page http://library.sjfc.edu.

Back to top

FIND ARTICLES AND MORE
Lavery Library subscribes to an extensive collection of Research Databases that may be used to search for articles on your topic in periodicals, newspapers, and book chapters. Periodicals include both scholarly journals and popular magazines. When researching for courses in your major, it is usually recommended that you use scholarly articles, also referred to as peer-reviewed or refereed articles. Databases will often allow you to limit your search to scholarly articles.

If the article cited on the database that you are using does not appear in full-text on the database, check Periodical Holdings on the library's home page to determine if the periodical is either full-text on another database or available in hard copy in the library's collection.

Research Databases are listed both alphabetically and by subject on the library's home page. When starting research in Mental Health Counseling, the following databases are recommended:

APA PsycInfo
PsycINFO (Silver Platter)
Expanded Academic
Proquest Research Library
Sociological Abstracts

Link to Subject Listing of databases available for Social Sciences

Back to top

FIND WEBSITES
When using websites for research it is very important to evaluate their authority and content. Use the following checklist to evaluate sites before using them as references.

Evaluating Web Sites Checklist

Your liaison librarian has provided a list of quality websites for Mental Health Counseling. They are available on the library's home page under Selected Websites. From the library's home page, select Internet Resources, then Selected Websites, then Mental Health Counseling.

To search for additional websites, start with Google - http://www.google.com.

Back to top

Available for research consultations, instruction, curricular support & purchase requests.

Marianne Simmons
Lavery Library