|
INTRODUCTION
FIND BACKGROUND INFORMATION
SELECTED PRINT REFERENCE SOURCES
FIND BOOKS IN LAVERY LIBRARY AND BEYOND
FIND ARTICLES AND MORE
FIND WEBSITES
INTRODUCTION
This guide is a pathfinder for finding materials in the area of Peace Studies.
It is not meant to be comprehensive. For additional help in researching Peace Studies topics,
contact the Reference Desk at 385-8141 or Marianne Simmons, Peace Studies Liaison, at 385-7399.
FIND BACKGROUND INFORMATION
Reference Books are located on the Main Level of Lavery Library.
Reference books provide background information to help you understand your topic,
narrow your topic, or prepare an outline of your topic. They also help define terms
related to your topic, provide assistance in the selection of subject terms for your database
searches, and contain factual information, such as, statistics, biographies, and maps.
SELECTED PRINT REFERENCES SOURCES:
Encyclopedias
BJ63 .E44 1998 REF
Encyclopedia of Applied Ethics
JX1974 .E57 1993 REF
Encyclopedia of Arms Control and Disarmament
HS17 .E53 2004 REF
Encyclopedia of Associations: International Organizations
HM136 .B783 1997 REF
Encyclopedia of Conflict Resolution
JC571 .E67 1996 REF
Encyclopedia of Human Rights
KZ4968 .O84 2003 REF
Encyclopedia of the United Nations and International Agreements
HM291 .E625 1999 REF
Encyclopedia of Violence, Peace, & Conflict
H41 .I58 2001 REF
International Encyclopedia of the Social & Behavioral Sciences
HN90 .V5 V5474 1999 REF
Violence in America
Dictionaries
HM136 .J47 1998 REF
An Encyclopedic Dictionary of Conflict and Conflict Resolution, 1945 - 1996
Handbooks
JC571 .A5 1999 REF
Amnesty International Report
K3165 .M33 2001 REF
Constitutions of the World
K3240.4 .H847 1999 REF
Human Rights: The Essential Reference
JZ1242 .E43 1998 REF
International Ethics: A Reference Handbook
JZ1242 .W67 2002 REF
World at Risk: A Global Issues Sourcebook
Directories
HN49 .V64 A47 2000 REF
Alternatives to the Peace Corps: A Directory of Third World and U.S. Volunteer
Opportunities
JZ4838 .E97 REF
Europa Directory of International Organizations
JZ4850 .A17 2000 REF
Guide to IGOs, NGOs, and the Military in Peace and Relief Operations
JZ5514 .B46 2001 REF
Peace Movement Directory: North American Organizations, Programs, Museums, and
Memorials
JX1905.5 .A64 1986 REF
Peace Resource Book: A Comprehensive Guide to Issues, Groups, and Literature
Biographies
JZ5540 .K44 1998 REF
Peacemakers: Winners of the Nobel Peace Prize
Documents
BX865 .P3713 1987 REF
Paths to Peace: A Contribution, Documents of the Holy See to the International
Community
Statistical Sources
HN90 .V5 S833 1996 REF
Statistical Handbook on Violence in America
D214 .C54 2001 REF
Warfare and Armed Conflicts: A Statistical Reference to Casualty and Other
Figures, 1500 - 2000
Bibliographies
JC571 .H837 2000 REF
Human Rights: A Bibliography
GN378 .P33 B66 1993 REF
Peaceful Peoples
JX1952 .T63 1982 REF
To End War: A New Approach to International Conflict
FIND BOOKS IN LAVERY LIBRARY AND BEYOND
The key to the library's extensive book collection is the Library Catalog.
It may be searched by Author, Title, Subject, or Keyword. Subject headings are established
by the Library of Congress. If you have any trouble selecting a Subject heading for your topic,
try a Keyword search or check the listings in the Library of Congress Subject
Headings red books (Z 695 .L69 2001 REF) in the Reference area near the main floor computers.
Link to the Library Catalog from the library's homepage at http://library.sjfc.edu
Subject Headings which may be useful to you for Peace
Studies are:
Peace
Pacifism
Peace Movements
Peaceful Relations
Peaceful Change International
Peace Societies
Nonviolence
Reconciliation
Conflict Management
Culture Conflict
Human Rights
Social Justice
International Relations
Ethnic Relations
Nationalism
Passive Resistance
Civil Disobedience
Conscientious Objection
Just War Doctrine History
Arbitration International
International Agencies
Search specific peace organizations by the name of the organization.
Also, search the names of peacemakers by both Subject and
Author, such as:
Addams, Jane
Balch, Emily Green
Berrigan, Daniel
Berrigan, Philip
Caldicott, Helen
Chavez, Cesar
Day, Dorothy
Gandhi, Mahatma
Huerta, Dolores
Kennedy, Robert
Nhat Hanh, Thich
King, Martin Luther
Ledarach, John Paul
McCarthy, Colman
Mandela, Nelson
Merton, Thomas
Mother Teresa
Peace Pilgrim
Ruiz, Samuel
Trocme, Andre
Tutu, Desmond
Zehr, Howard
Zinn, Howard
If you would like to browse the holdings for Peace Studies,
try the following sections:
Anthropological perspectives: GN 396, GN 490-497
Historical perspectives: DS 530
Political perspectives: JX 1255, JX 1965, JZ 1904, JZ 5538, JZ 5560
Religious perspectives: BL 65, BT 736
Social perspectives: HM 278, HM 1281
Circulating books are all located on the Upper Level.
Link to the Library Catalog
from the library's home page http://library.sjfc.edu
Find books in Other Libraries by selecting Other Libraries
from the library's home page.
Search the world for books by selecting WorldCat from the databases listed
on the Research Databases web page.
To order a book from another library use the online
Interlibrary Loan form, accessible from the library's home page http://library.sjfc.edu.
FIND ARTICLES AND MORE
Lavery Library subscribes to an extensive collection of
Research Databases that may be used
to search for articles on your topic in periodicals, newspapers, and book chapters.
Periodicals include both scholarly journals and popular magazines. When researching for
courses in your major, it is usually recommended that you use scholarly articles, also
referred to as peer reviewed or refereed articles. Databases will often allow you to limit
your search to scholarly articles.
If the article cited on the database that you are using does not appear in full-text on the
database, check Periodical Holdings
on the library's home page to determine if the periodical is either full-text on another
database or available in hard copy in the library's collection.
Research Databases are listed both alphabetically and by subject on the library's
home page. Since Peace Studies is an interdisciplinary subject, a variety of databases
may be useful. Use appropriate databases listed under Databases by Subject
in the categories: General & Interdisciplinary, Social Sciences, and
Humanities and Art. Start with the following databases:
Academic Search Premier
Alternative Press Index
Lexis Nexis
Proquest Newspapers
Proquest Research Library
ATLA (American Theological Library Association)
To order articles from another library use the online
Interlibrary Loan form on the library's home page.
FIND WEBSITES
Your liaison librarian, Marianne Simmons, has provided a list of quality websites for
Peace Studies. They are available on the library's home page under
Internet Resources, then Selected Websites.
When using websites for research it is very important to evaluate their authority and content. Use the following checklist to evaluate sites before using them as references.
Evaluating Web Sites Checklist
To search for additional websites, start with Google - http://www.google.com.
|
Marianne Simmons
|
Lavery Library
|
|
|