|
INTRODUCTION
FIND BACKGROUND INFORMATION
SELECTED PRINT REFERENCE SOURCES
FIND BOOKS IN LAVERY LIBRARY AND BEYOND
FIND ARTICLES AND DRUG INFORMATION
FIND WEBSITES
INTRODUCTION
Welcome to Lavery Library.
The following is a guide to doing research in the field of Pharmacy. It is not meant to be comprehensive.
For additional help in researching Pharmacy topics, contact the Reference Desk at 385-8141.
FIND BACKGROUND INFORMATION
Reference Books are located on the Main Level of Lavery Library.
Reference books provide background information to aid in understanding a topic,
narrowing a topic, or preparing an outline of a paper. They also help define terms, provide
assistance in the selection of subject terms for database searches, and contain factual
information, such drug guides and statistical sources.
SELECTED PRINT REFERENCES SOURCES:
Literature and Research Guides
Z1035.2 .W33 2005 REF
The New Walford Guide to Reference Resources: Volume 1: Science, Technology and Medicine
Encyclopedias
QD415 .A25 .E53 2004 REF
Encyclopedia of Biological Chemistry
QM7 .E53 2002 REF
Encyclopedia of the Human Body
RA1193 .E53 2005 REF
Encyclopedia of Toxicology
R733 .G34 2001 REF
Gale Encyclopedia of Alternative Medicine
RC41 .G35 2002 REF
The Gale Encyclopedia of Medicine
Dictionaries
QP512 .F33 2003 REF
Facts on File Dictionary of Biochemistry
QD415 .A25 .O94 2000 REF
Oxford Dictionary of Biochemistry and Molecular Biology
R121 .S8 2006 REF
Stedman's Medical Dictionary
R121 .T18 2005 REF
Taber's Cyclopedic Medical Dictionary
Abbreviations and Acronyms
R123 .J24 2004 REF
Dictionary of Medical Acronyms & Abbreviations
Diagnostic Manuals
RC71 .C8 2005 REF
Current Medical Diagnosis & Treatment, 2005
RC55 .M4 1999 REF
The Merck Manual of Diagnosis and Therapy
Find circulating books on this topic by searching the library catalog under
diagnosis.
Drug Guides
RS131.2 .A47 REF
AHFS Drug Information
RS355 .A48 REF
American Drug Index
RM262 .P7 2000 REF
The Antimicrobial Drugs
RM262 .A65 2005 REF
Applied Therapeutics: The Clinical Use of Drugs
RM666 .H33 .T44 1998 REF
Complete German Commission E Monographs. Therapeutic Guide to Herbal Medicines
RS424 .E98 2005 REF
Extended Stability for Parenteral Drugs
RM300 .F33 REF
Facts and Comparisons
RM143 .T74 2005 REF
Handbook on Injectable Drugs
RS139 .I5 2004 REF
Index Nominum, International Drug Directory
RS201 .P37 .K56 2005 REF
King Guide to Parenteral Admixtures
RS356 .M524 2001 REF (new edition coming soon)
The Merck Index: An Encyclopedia of Chemicals, Drugs, and Biologicals
RS250 .N66 REF
Handbook of Non-Prescription Drugs - American Pharmaceutical Association
RS164 .R676 1999 REF
Medical Plants of the World: Chemical Constituents, Traditional, and Modern Medicinal Uses
RS75 .P554 2000 REF
PDR for Herbal Medicines
RM671 .A1 .P48 2002 REF
Physicians' Desk Reference for Nonprescription Drugs and Dietary Supplements
RS75 .P5 2006 REF
Physicians' Desk Reference: PDR
Handbooks
RA1215 .C37 2001 REF
Casarett and Doull's Toxicology: The Basic Science of Poisons
QM23.2 .G73 2005
Gray's Anatomy
RC46 .H333 2005 REF
Harrison's Principles of Internal Medicine
RM666 .H33 .S58 2001 REF
Mosby's Handbook of Herbs & Natural Supplements
RT90 .C36 2000 REF
Mosby's Handbook of Patient Teaching
RA418.5 .T73 .L37 1995 REF
Multicultural Clients: A Professional Handbook for Health Care Providers and Social Workers
Atlases
QP514.2 .K6613 2005 REF
Color Atlas of Biochemistry
QM25 .M23 2003 REF
McMinn's Color Atlas of Human Anatomy
QM25 .N46 2006 REF
Netter's Atlas of the Human Body
QM23.2 .G73 2005 REF
Photographic Atlas of the Body
Medical Ethics
BJ63 .E44 1998 REF
Encyclopedia of Applied Ethics
QH332 .E52 2003 REF
Encyclopedia of Bioethics
Find circulating books on this topic by searching the library catalog under
pharmacy - moral and ethical aspects, medical ethics, or bioethics.
Patient Education
RM301.12.J636 2002 REF
The Johns Hopkins Consumer Guide to Drugs
RC81 .M535 2003 REF
The Merck Manual of Medical Information (Home edition)
RT90.C36 2000 REF
Mosby's Handbook of Patient Teaching
Find circulating books on this topic by searching the library catalog under
patient education or medicine popular.
Statistical Sources
RA407.3 .U57a 2005 REF
Health, United States 2005
Writing and Style Manuals
R119 .A533 1998 REF
American Medical Association Manual of Style: A Guide for Authors and Editors
BF76.7.P83 2001 REF
Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association
R119 .M28 2000 REF
Successful Scientific Writing
FIND BOOKS IN LAVERY LIBRARY AND BEYOND
The key to the library's extensive book collection is
the Library Catalog.
It may be searched by Author, Title, Subject, or Keyword. Subject headings are established by the Library of Congress.
If you have trouble selecting a Subject heading for your topic, try a Keyword search or check the listings in the
Library of Congress Subject Headings red books (Z 695 .L69 2001 REF) in the Reference area near the main floor computers.
Examples of Subject Headings which may be useful to you for Pharmacy topics are:
Pharmacy
Pharmacy - moral and ethical aspects
Pharmacology
Pharmacology - handbooks, manuals, etc.
Drugs
Drugs - dictionaries
Drugs - handbooks, manuals, etc.
Drugs - side effects
Drug Industry
Pharmaceutical Industry
If you would like to browse in the Pharmacy section, the main call letter for Pharmacy and
Medicine is R. Human anatomy may be found under QM. Drug information
may be found from RM through RS.
Circulating books are all located on the Upper Level.
Find books in other libraries by selecting Other Libraries from
the library's home page.
Select a specific library on the list, or, to search all libraries, select
WorldCat from the library's Research Databases page.
To order books from another library, use the online Interlibrary Loan form
on the library's home page.
FIND ARTICLES AND DRUG INFORMATION
Lavery Library subscribes to an extensive collection of Research
Databases, which may be used to search for articles
on your topics in periodicals, newspapers, and book chapters. Periodicals include both scholarly journals and
popular magazines. When researching for courses in your major, it is usually recommended that you use scholarly articles,
also referred to as peer reviewed or refereed articles. Databases will often allow you to limit your search to scholarly
articles.
If the article cited on the database that you are using does not appear in full-text on the database,
check Periodical Holdings
or Journals or Magazines by Title on the library's home page
to determine if the periodical is either full-text on another database or available in hard copy in the library's collection.
Research Databases are listed both alphabetically and by subject
on the library's home page.
When doing research in Pharmacy, the following databases are recommended:
American Chemical Society Web Editions
Clinical Pharmacology
Facts and Comparisons Online
Medline
Micromedex (requires a login)
Natural Medicines Comprehensive Database (coming soon)
PubMed
Science Direct
SciFinder Scholar
FIND WEBSITES
The Pharmacy liaison librarian has provided a list of quality Websites for
Pharmacy. They are available on the library's home page under
Internet Resources - Selected Websites
When using websites for research, it is very important to evaluate their authority and content.
Use the Evaluating Web Sites Checklist to evaluate sites
before using them as references. This checklist is available on the Selected Websites page.
|