College
column spacer
    Lavery Library Spacer Spike Subject Guides Spacer Spike Sociology

INTRODUCTION

FIND BACKGROUND INFORMATION

SELECTED PRINT REFERENCE SOURCES

FIND BOOKS IN LAVERY LIBRARY AND BEYOND

FIND ARTICLES AND MORE

FIND WEBSITES

INTRODUCTION
This subject guide covers resources in Sociology and related Social Science disciplines. Subject guides in Anthropology, Psychology or History may also be consulted.

Back to top

FIND BACKGROUND INFORMATION
Reference Books are located on the Main Level of Lavery Library.

Reference books provide background information to help you understand your topic, narrow your topic, or prepare an outline of your topic. They also help define terms related to your topic, provide assistance in the selection of subject terms for your database searches, and contain factual information, such as, statistics, biographies, and maps.

Back to top

SELECTED PRINT REFERENCES SOURCES:

Encyclopedias
HM425.E5 2000 REF
Encyclopedia of Sociology

HN57.K73 1997 REF
Encyclopedia of Modern American Social Issues

H41.I58 2001 REF
International Encyclopedia of the Social and Behavioral Sciences

Dictionaries
HM425.J64 2000 REF
The Blackwell Dictionary of Sociology: A User's Guide to Sociological Language.

HA17.V64 1999 REF
Dictionary of Statistics and Methodology: A Nontechnical Guide for the Social Sciences

Atlases
HN60.A5 1995 REF
The Atlas of American Society

Biographies
HM478.B583 2000 REF
The Blackwell Companion to Major Social Theorists

HN65.M38 1993 REF
American Social Leaders

Statistical Sources
HA12.5.U63 REF
Statistical Yearbook

HA202 REF
Statistical Abstract of the United States.

Back to top

FIND BOOKS IN LAVERY LIBRARY AND BEYOND
The key to the library's extensive book collection is the Library Catalog. It may be searched by Author, Title, Subject, or Keyword. Subject headings are established by the Library of Congress. If you have any trouble selecting a Subject heading for your topic, try a Keyword search or check the listings in the Library of Congress Subject Headings red books (Z 695 .L69 2001 REF) in the Reference area near the main floor computers.

Subject Headings which may be useful to you for Sociology.

Sociology
Social problems
Social history
[name of topic such as alcoholism]

If you would like to browse in the Sociology section of the library, the main call numbers are: HM, HN, HQ.

Circulating books are all located on the Upper Level.

Link to the Library Catalog from the library's home page http://library.sjfc.edu

Find books in Other Libraries by selecting Library Catalog from the library's home page, then select Other Library Catalogs.

Search the world for books by selecting WorldCat from the databases listed under Research Databases. From the library's home page, select Research Tools, select Research Databases, then select WorldCat from the alphabetized list.

To order a book from another library use the online Interlibrary Loan form, accessible from the library's home page http://library.sjfc.edu.

Back to top

FIND ARTICLES AND MORE
Lavery Library subscribes to an extensive collection of Research Databases that may be used to search for articles on your topic in periodicals, newspapers, and book chapters. Periodicals include both scholarly journals and popular magazines. When researching for courses in your major, it is usually recommended that you use scholarly articles, also referred to as peer reviewed or refereed articles. Databases will often allow you to limit your search to scholarly articles.

If the article cited on the database that you are using does not appear in full-text on the database, check Periodical Holdings to determine if the periodical is either full-text on another database or available in hard copy in the library's collection. From the library's home page, select Research Tools, then select Research Databases.

Research Databases are listed both alphabetically and by subject on the library's home page. When starting research in Sociology, the following databases are recommended:

Sociological Abstracts
SocialSciIndex
Expanded Academic
Proquest Databases
JSTOR

Link to Subject Listing of databases available for Social Sciences.

Back to top

FIND WEBSITES
When using websites for research it is very important to evaluate their authority and content. Use the following checklist to evaluate sites before using them as references.

Evaluating Web Sites Checklist

Your liaison librarian has provided a list of quality websites for Sociology. They are available on the library's home page under Selected Websites. From the library's home page, select Internet Resources, then Selected Websites, then Sociology.

To search for additional websites, start with Google - http://www.google.com.

Back to top

Marianne Simmons
Lavery Library