College
column spacer
    Lavery Library Spacer Spike Subject Guides Spacer Spike Women's History

INTRODUCTION

FIND BACKGROUND INFORMATION

SELECTED PRINT REFERENCE SOURCES

FIND BOOKS IN LAVERY LIBRARY AND BEYOND

FIND ARTICLES AND MORE

FIND WEBSITES

INTRODUCTION
This subject guide addresses all aspects of the history of women from ancient time until the present including all cultures. For additional information, please see other history subject guides arranged by area of the world.

Back to top

FIND BACKGROUND INFORMATION
Reference Books are located on the Main Level of Lavery Library.

Reference books provide background information to help you understand your topic, narrow your topic, or prepare an outline of your topic. They also help define terms related to your topic, provide assistance in the selection of subject terms for your database searches, and contain factual information, such as, statistics, biographies, and maps.

Back to top

SELECTED PRINT REFERENCES SOURCES:

Literature and Research Guides
Z7164.U5 A47 2001 HQ1410 REF
American Women: A Library of Congress Guide For the Study of Women's History and Culture in the United States

HQ1180.R43 1998 REF
A Reader's Guide To Women's Studies

Encyclopedias
HQ1115.R69 2000 REF
The Routledge International Encyclopedia of Women: Global Women's Issues and Knowledge

HQ1236.5U6E53 1999 REF
Encyclopedia of Women In American Politics

Dictionaries
HQ1115.R68 2000 REF
The Routledge Critical Dictionary of Feminism and Postfeminism

Handbooks
HQ1410.H36 2000 REF
Handbook of American Women's History

HQ1410.R43 1998 REF
The Reader's Companion to U.S. Women's History

Chronologies
HQ1154.C665 2001
What American Women Did, 1789-1920: A Year-By-Year Reference

HQ1121.G74 1994
The Timetables of Women's History: A Chronology of the Most Important People and Events In Women's History

Biographies
CT213.A68 1999
American National Biography

CT3230.A28 1998 REF
Notable Women In World History: A Guide to Recommended Biographies and Autobiographies

CT3260.B6.A27 1999 REF
Notable Women In American History: A Guide to Recommended Biographies and Autobiographies

Statistical Sources
HB1755.A3A44 2000 REF
American Men and Women: Demographics of the Sexes

HQ1420.T34 1996 REF
Statistical Handbook On Women In America

HQ1105.W67 1995 REF
The World's Women: Trends and Statistics

Primary Sources
HQ1588.W645 1983
Women, the Family, and Freedom: The Debate In Documents

HQ1236.5U6W68 1994
Women's Rights In the United States: A Documentary History

Back to top

FIND BOOKS IN LAVERY LIBRARY AND BEYOND
The key to the library's extensive book collection is the Library Catalog. It may be searched by Author, Title, Subject, or Keyword. Subject headings are established by the Library of Congress. If you have any trouble selecting a Subject heading for your topic, try a Keyword search or check the listings in the Library of Congress Subject Headings red books (Z 695 .L69 2001 REF) in the Reference area near the main floor computers.

Subject Headings which may be useful to you for Women's History are:

Women[name of country]
WomenHistory
Women[name time period such as 19th century]

If you would like to browse in the Women's History section of the library the main call numbers are: HQ's

Circulating books are all located on the Upper Level.

Link to the Library Catalog from the library's home page http://library.sjfc.edu

Find books in Other Libraries by selecting Other Libraries from the library's home page.

Search the world for books by selecting WorldCat from the databases listed on the Research Databases web page.

To order a book from another library use the online Interlibrary Loan form, accessible from the library's home page http://library.sjfc.edu.

Back to top

FIND ARTICLES AND MORE
Lavery Library subscribes to an extensive collection of Research Databases that may be used to search for articles on your topic in periodicals, newspapers, and book chapters. Periodicals include both scholarly journals and popular magazines. When researching for courses in your major, it is usually recommended that you use scholarly articles, also referred to as peer reviewed or refereed articles. Databases will often allow you to limit your search to scholarly articles.

If the article cited on the database that you are using does not appear in full-text on the database, check Periodical Holdings on the library's home page to determine if the periodical is either full-text on another database or available in hard copy in the library's collection.

Research Databases are listed both alphabetically and by subject on the library's home page. When starting research in Women's History, the following databases are recommended:

America History and Life
Historical Abstracts
JSTOR
Sociological Abstracts
CWI- Contemporary Women's Issues

Link to Subject Listing of databases available for Humanities and Art

Back to top

FIND WEBSITES
When using websites for research it is very important to evaluate their authority and content. Use the following checklist to evaluate sites before using them as references.

Evaluating Web Sites Checklist

Your liaison librarian has provided a list of quality websites for Women's History. They are available on the library's home page under "Selected Websites". Select History, then select Women's History.

To search for additional websites, start with Google - http://www.google.com.

Back to top

Marianne Simmons
Lavery Library