College
column spacer
    Lavery Library Spacer Spike Subject Guides Spacer Spike Women's Studies

INTRODUCTION

FIND BACKGROUND INFORMATION

SELECTED PRINT REFERENCE SOURCES

FIND BOOKS IN LAVERY LIBRARY AND BEYOND

FIND ARTICLES AND MORE

FIND WEBSITES

INTRODUCTION
This subject guide is intended as a starting point for research into all aspects of Women's Studies, it includes information on global women's issues.

Back to top

FIND BACKGROUND INFORMATION
Reference Books are located on the Main Level of Lavery Library.

Reference books provide background information to help you understand your topic, narrow your topic, or prepare an outline of your topic. They also help define terms related to your topic, provide assistance in the selection of subject terms for your database searches, and contain factual information, such as, statistics, biographies, and maps.

Back to top

SELECTED PRINT REFERENCES SOURCES:

Literature and Research Guides
PR116 .M63 2002
Modern British women writers : an A-to-Z guide
Janik, Vicki K.

PS374 .W6 C66 2002
Contemporary American women fiction writers : an A-to-Z guide
Champion, Laurie

Encyclopedias
BL458 .E53 1999
Encyclopedia of women and world religion
Young, Serinity.

HQ766.5.U5 H57 2002
Historical and multicultural encyclopedia of women's reproductive rights in the United States
Baer, Judith A.

HQ1115 .E52 2001
Encyclopedia of women and gender : sex similarities and differences and the impact of society on gender
Worell, Judith.

HQ1115 .R69 2000
Routledge international encyclopedia of women : global women's issues and knowledge
Kramarae, Cheris.

HQ1115 .W6 1999
Women in world history : a biographical encyclopedia
Commire, Anne.

HQ1115 .W645 1999
Women's studies encyclopedia
Tierney, Helen.

HQ1115 .W6425 1997
Women's issues
McFadden, Margaret.

HQ1127 .S25 2001
Encyclopedia of women in the ancient world
Salisbury, Joyce E.

HQ1143 .L38 2001
Encyclopedia of women in the Middle Ages
Lawler, Jennifer, 1965-

HQ1236 .R29 2001
Encyclopedia of women social reformers
Rappaport, Helen.

JF851 .H28 2000
International encyclopedia of women's suffrage
Hannam, June, 1947-

RA778 .G39 2002
Encyclopedia of women's health issues
Gay, Kathlyn.

Almanacs
HQ1236.5 .U6 M3779 2001
The almanac of women and minorities in American politics 2002
Martin, Mart, 1944-

HQ1410 .B47 1997
The American women's almanac : an inspiring and irreverent women's history
Bernikow, Louise, 1940-

Handbooks
HQ1410 .H36 2000
Handbook of American women's history
Howard, Angela.

Atlases
HQ1410 .P68 2000
The Routledge historical atlas of women in America
Opdycke, Sandra.

Biographies
BL473.5 .M66 1990
The book of goddesses & heroines
Monaghan, Patricia

BL715 .B445 1993
Women of classical mythology: a biographical dictionary
Bell, Robert E.

CT3230 .A28 1998
Notable women in world history : a guide to recommended biographies and autobiographies
Adamson, Lynda G.

CT3260.B6 A27 1999
Notable women in American history : a guide to recommended biographies and autobiographies
Adamson, Lynda G.

CT3260.N57x 1971
Notable American women, 1607-1950; a biographical dictionary
James, Edward T.

CT3260 .N573 1983
Notable American women : the modern period : a biographical dictionary
Sicherman, Barbara.

CT3290 .N68 2001
Notable twentieth-century Latin American women : a biographical dictionary
Tompkins, Cynthia, 1958-

E98.W8 B38 2001
Native American women : a biographical dictionary
Bataille, Gretchen M., 1944-

E185.96 .N68 1992
Notable Black American women
Smith, Jessie Carney.

E185.96 .N68 1996
Notable Black American women : book II
Smith, Jessie Carney.

HQ1121 .H47 1995
Herstory : women who changed the world
Ashby, Ruth.

HQ1123 .D86 2002
Ahead of their time : a biographical dictionary of risk-taking women
Duncan, Joyce, 1946-

Statistical Sources
HB1755.A3 A44 2000
American men and women : demographics of the sexes

HQ536 .S727 1999
Statistical handbook on the American family
Chadwick, Bruce A.

HQ759.915 .K56 1999
Single parents : a reference handbook
Kinnear, Karen L.

Back to top

FIND BOOKS IN LAVERY LIBRARY AND BEYOND
The key to the library's extensive book collection is the Library Catalog. It may be searched by Author, Title, Subject, or Keyword. Subject headings are established by the Library of Congress. If you have any trouble selecting a Subject heading for your topic, try a Keyword search or check the listings in the Library of Congress Subject Headings red books (Z 695 .L69 2001 REF) in the Reference area near the main floor computers.

Subject Headings which may be useful to you for Women's Studies are:

Women
Women--United States
Women--(NAME of country)
Women--Social conditions
Women's rights
Women and peace

Circulating books are all located on the Upper Level.

Link to the Library Catalog from the library's home page http://library.sjfc.edu

Find books in Other Libraries by selecting Other Libraries from the library's home page.

Search the world for books by selecting WorldCat from the databases listed on the Research Databases web page.

To order a book from another library use the online Interlibrary Loan form, accessible from the library's home page http://library.sjfc.edu.

Back to top

FIND ARTICLES AND MORE
Lavery Library subscribes to an extensive collection of Research Databases that may be used to search for articles on your topic in periodicals, newspapers, and book chapters. Periodicals include both scholarly journals and popular magazines. When researching for courses in your major, it is usually recommended that you use scholarly articles, also referred to as peer reviewed or refereed articles. Databases will often allow you to limit your search to scholarly articles.

If the article cited on the database that you are using does not appear in full-text on the database, check Periodical Holdings on the library's home page to determine if the periodical is either full-text on another database or available in hard copy in the library's collection.

Research Databases are listed both alphabetically and by subject on the library's home page. When starting research in Women's Studies, the following databases are recommended:

Biography Index
Includes autobiographies, bibliographies, biographies, and obituaries from over 2,700 periodicals. Coverage begins in 1984 and is updated monthly.

Contemporary Women's Issues
Full-text database provides information about women in over 150 countries from a myriad of sources. Please check Periodical Holdings List for individual sources before contacting the Reference Desk at (585)385-8141 for full-text password.

CQ Researcher
Explores a single “hot” issue in the news in depth each week. Topics range from social and teen issues to environment, health and education. There are 44 reports produced each year, dating back to 1991.

Expanded Academic Index
A general database that can be used to find citations, abstracts, and some full-text of articles on a wide variety of topics.

Humanities Abstracts
More than 465 periodicals in archaeology, art, classics, folklore, philosophy, religion and world history are indexed in this database. Coverage begins in 1984. It is updated monthly.

LexisNexis
Offers full-text access to 1.4 billion documents from over 18,300 sources. Use it to search news, legal resources, medical and health topics, country profiles and more.

Social Sciences Abstracts
Indexes periodicals in sociology, anthropology, political science, and law.

Sociological Abstracts
More than 250 journals in sociology, social work, and other social sciences are covered in the database. Indexing covers 1963-present.

Link to Subject Listing of databases available for General and Interdisciplinary Studies.

Back to top

FIND WEBSITES
When using websites for research it is very important to evaluate their authority and content. Use the following checklist to evaluate sites before using them as references.

Evaluating Web Sites Checklist

The History liaison librarian has provided a list of quality websites for Women's History. They are available on the library's home page under “Selected Websites”. Select History then select Women's History.

The New York Public Library offers an excellent research guide to Internet Resources in Women's Studies. It includes a section on International Women's Sites.

Voice of the Shuttle is a web guide created at the University of California, Santa Barbara and has extensive Gender Studies links.

Concerned Women for America offers a traditionally conservative political approach to gender issues.

National Organization for Women offers a traditionally liberal political approach to gender issues.

Gender Watch - international gender organization.

To search for additional websites, start with Google - http://www.google.com.

Back to top

Marianne Simmons
Lavery Library