College
column spacer
    Lavery Library Spacer Spike Subject Guides Spacer Spike World History

INTRODUCTION

FIND BACKGROUND INFORMATION

SELECTED PRINT REFERENCE SOURCES

FIND BOOKS IN LAVERY LIBRARY AND BEYOND

FIND ARTICLES AND MORE

FIND WEBSITES

INTRODUCTION
This subject guide covers comprehensive world history resources.

Back to top

FIND BACKGROUND INFORMATION
Reference Books are located on the Main Level of Lavery Library.

Reference books provide background information to help you understand your topic, narrow your topic, or prepare an outline of your topic. They also help define terms related to your topic, provide assistance in the selection of subject terms for your database searches, and contain factual information, such as, statistics, biographies, and maps.

Back to top

SELECTED PRINT REFERENCES SOURCES:

Literature and Research Guides
D359.7.S74 1996
The ABC-CLIO World History Companion to the Industrial Revolution

D20.A55 1995
The American Historical Association's Guide to Historical Literature

Encyclopedias
D21 .E578 2001 REF
The Encyclopedia of World History: Ancient, Medieval, and Modern, Chronologically Arranged

D21.E577 1998
Encyclopedia of World History

CB69 .C37 1993 REF
The Encyclopedia of World Facts and Dates

Dictionaries
D286 .D53 1996
The Penguin Dictionary of Eighteenth-Century History

D356 .D53 1996
The Penguin Dictionary of Nineteenth-Century History

D419 .P32 1997
A dictionary of Twentieth-Century World History

D9 .W47 1994
World History: A Dictionary of Important People, Places, and Events From Ancient Times to the Present

Atlases
G1030.A875 2000
Atlas of World History

G1030.H34 1999
Hammond Atlas of World History

QE28.3.H57 1996
The Historical Atlas of the Earth : A Visual Exploration of the Earth's Physical Past

Chronologies
D11.M39 1999
Chronology of World History

D427.W19 1996
Chronology of the 20th Century

HT861.R63 1999
Chronology of World Slavery

Biographies
CT103.V39 2001
The Penguin International Dictionary of Contemporary Biography From 1900 to the Present

Back to top

FIND BOOKS IN LAVERY LIBRARY AND BEYOND
The key to the library's extensive book collection is the Library Catalog. It may be searched by Author, Title, Subject, or Keyword. Subject headings are established by the Library of Congress. If you have any trouble selecting a Subject heading for your topic, try a Keyword search or check the listings in the Library of Congress Subject Headings red books (Z 695 .L69 2001 REF) in the Reference area near the main floor computers.

Subject Headings which may be useful to you for World History are:

History
World History
Culture--History

If you would like to browse in the World History section of the library, the main call numbers for World History begin with D.

Circulating books are all located on the Upper Level.

Link to the Library Catalog from the library's home page http://library.sjfc.edu

Find books in Other Libraries by selecting Library Catalog from the library's home page, then select Other Library Catalogs.

Search the world for books by selecting WorldCat from the databases listed under Research Databases. From the library's home page, select Research Tools, select Research Databases, then select WorldCat from the alphabetized list.

To order a book from another library use the online Interlibrary Loan form, accessible from the library's home page http://library.sjfc.edu.

Back to top

FIND ARTICLES AND MORE
Lavery Library subscribes to an extensive collection of Research Databases that may be used to search for articles on your topic in periodicals, newspapers, and book chapters. Periodicals include both scholarly journals and popular magazines. When researching for courses in your major, it is usually recommended that you use scholarly articles, also referred to as peer reviewed or refereed articles. Databases will often allow you to limit your search to scholarly articles.

If the article cited on the database that you are using does not appear in full-text on the database, check Periodical Holdings to determine if the periodical is either full-text on another database or available in hard copy in the library's collection. From the library's home page, select Research Tools, then select Research Databases.

Research Databases are listed both alphabetically and by subject on the library's home page. When starting research in World History, the following databases are recommended:

Historical Abstracts
JSTOR
Expanded Academic

Link to Subject Listing of databases available for Humanities and Art

Back to top

FIND WEBSITES
When using websites for research it is very important to evaluate their authority and content. Use the following checklist to evaluate sites before using them as references.

Evaluating Web Sites Checklist

Your liaison librarian has provided a list of quality websites for World History. They are available on the library's home page under Selected Websites. Select History, then make a selection under World History.

To search for additional websites, start with Google - http://www.google.com.

Back to top

Marianne Simmons
Lavery Library