College
column spacer
    Lavery Library Spacer Spike Subject Guides Spacer SpikeCriminal Justice

INTRODUCTION

FIND BACKGROUND INFORMATION

SELECTED PRINT REFERENCE SOURCES

FIND BOOKS IN LAVERY LIBRARY AND BEYOND

FIND ARTICLES AND MORE

FIND WEBSITES

INTRODUCTION
The Criminal Justice Subject Guide covers the theoretical, social, cultural, and policy aspects of crime phenomena in the United States.

Back to top

FIND BACKGROUND INFORMATION
Reference Books are located on the Main Level of Lavery Library.

Reference books provide background information to help you understand your topic, narrow your topic, or prepare an outline of your topic. They also help define terms related to your topic, provide assistance in the selection of subject terms for your database searches, and contain factual information, such as, statistics, biographies, and maps.

Back to top

SELECTED PRINT REFERENCES SOURCES:

Literature and Research Guides
HV7419 .C73 N45 1997 REF
Criminal Justice Research in Libraries and on the Internet

HV7419.5 .C75 1998 REF
Criminal Justice Information: How To Find It, How To Use It

Encyclopedias
HV8073 .B425 2004 REF
Encyclopedia of Forensic Sciences

HV9104 .E58 2003 REF
Encyclopedia of Juvenile Justice

HV6789 .S54 2001 REF
Encyclopedia of American Crime

HV9471 .S54 2003 REF
Encyclopedia of American Prisons

HV6017 .E524 2002 REF
Encyclopedia of Crime and Punishment

HV6017 .E52 2002 REF
Encyclopedia of Crime and Justice

HV6017 .E53 2001 REF
Encyclopedia of Criminology and Deviant Behavior

Dictionaries
HV6017 .D38 2002 REF
The Concise Dictionary of Crime and Justice

Handbooks
KF8719 .S552 2003 REF
Courts and Trials: A Reference Handbook

Atlases
HV6783 .A85 2000 REF
Atlas of Crime: Mapping the Criminal Landscape

Statistical Sources
HN60 .S62 2003 REF
Social Trends & Indicators USA

HN59.2 .B43 2001 REF
Beacham's Encyclopedia of Social Change: America in the Twentieth Century

HV6787 .C75 2000 REF
Crime in America's Top-Rated Cities: A Statistical Profile

Back to top

FIND BOOKS IN LAVERY LIBRARY AND BEYOND
The key to the library's extensive book collection is the Library Catalog. It may be searched by Author, Title, Subject, or Keyword. Subject headings are established by the Library of Congress. If you have any trouble selecting a Subject heading for your topic, try a Keyword search or check the listings in the Library of Congress Subject Headings red books (Z 695 .L69 2001 REF) in the Reference area near the main floor computers.

Subject Headings which may be useful to you for Criminal Justice are:

Crime
Crime Prevention
Criminal behavior
Criminal investigation
Criminology
Criminal justice, Administration of
Criminal law
Prisons
Prisoners
Prison administration
Correctional institutions
Corrections
Law enforcement

If you would like to browse in the Criminal Justice section, the main call numbers for Criminal Justice begin with: HV or K.

Circulating books are all located on the Upper Level.

Link to the Library Catalog from the library's home page http://library.sjfc.edu

Find books in Other Libraries by selecting Library Catalog from the library's home page, then select Other Library Catalogs.

Search the world for books by selecting WorldCat from the databases listed under Research Databases.

To order a book from another library use the online Interlibrary Loan form, accessible from the library's home page http://library.sjfc.edu.

Back to top

FIND ARTICLES AND MORE
Lavery Library subscribes to an extensive collection of Research Databases that may be used to search for articles on your topic in periodicals, newspapers, and book chapters. Periodicals include both scholarly journals and popular magazines. When researching for courses in your major, it is usually recommended that you use scholarly articles, also referred to as peer-reviewed or refereed articles. Databases will often allow you to limit your search to scholarly articles.

If the article cited on the database that you are using does not appear in full-text on the database, check Periodical Holdings on the library's home page to determine if the periodical is either full-text on another database or available in hard copy in the library's collection.

Research Databases are listed both alphabetically and by subject on the library's home page. When starting research in Criminal Justice, the following databases are recommended:

Expanded Academic
Proquest Research Library
Sociological Abstracts
APA PsycInfo
PsycINFO
Wilson Select Plus

Link to Subject Listing of databases available for Social Sciences

Back to top

FIND WEBSITES
When using websites for research it is very important to evaluate their authority and content. Use the following checklist to evaluate sites before using them as references.

Evaluating Web Sites Checklist

Your liaison librarian has provided a list of quality websites for Criminal Justice. They are available on the library's home page under Selected Websites. From the library's home page, select Internet Resources, then Selected Websites, then Criminal Justice.

To search for additional websites, start with Google - http://www.google.com.

Back to top

Available for research consultations, instruction, curricular support & purchase requests.

Marianne Simmons
Lavery Library