College
column spacer
    Lavery Library Spacer Spike Subject Guides Spacer Spike Nursing

INTRODUCTION

FIND BACKGROUND INFORMATION

SELECTED PRINT REFERENCE SOURCES

FIND BOOKS IN LAVERY LIBRARY AND BEYOND

FIND ARTICLES AND MORE

FIND WEBSITES

INTRODUCTION
The following is a guide to starting research in the field of Nursing. It is not meant to be comprehensive. For additional help in researching Nursing topics, contact the Reference Desk at 385-8141.

Back to top

FIND BACKGROUND INFORMATION
Reference Books are located on the Main Level of Lavery Library.

A key component of doing research for Nursing is the use of reference books. They often provide background information to help you understand your topic, narrow your topic, or prepare an outline for your paper. They also help define terms related to your topic, provide assistance in the selection of subject terms for your database searches, and contain factual information, such as, statistics, biographies, and atlases. In the Nursing area, they also provide manuals for diagnosis, measurement instruments, style, and professional standards; as well as guides to the Internet, drugs, research, patient education, and writing.

Back to top

SELECTED PRINT REFERENCES SOURCES:

Literature and Research Guides
R118.6.I54 2004 REF
Introduction to Reference Sources in the Health Sciences

RA427 .U84 2002 STACKS
Users' Guides to the Medical Literature: A Manual for Evidence-Based Clinical Practice

RA427.U847 2002 STACKS
Users' Guides to the Medical Literature: Essentials of Evidence-Based Clinical Practice

Encyclopedias
RC81 .A2 A497 2003 REF
American Medical Association Complete Medical Encyclopedia

RC262.E558 2002 REF
Encyclopedia of Cancer

RC954.E53 2001 REF
Encyclopedia of Elder Care

RC649 .P48 2005 REF
The Encyclopedia of Endocrine Diseases and Disorders

R726.5 .E53 2004 REF
Encyclopedia of Health & Behavior

RA971 .E52 2004 REF
Encyclopedia of Health Care Management

RT81.5.E53 2006 REF
Encyclopedia of Nursing Research

RA423.E53 2002 REF
Encyclopedia of Public Health

RA778.G39 2002 REF
Encyclopedia of Women's Health Issues

RC254.5.G353 2005 REF
Gale Encyclopedia of Cancer

RB155.5.G35 2005 REF
Gale Encyclopedia of Genetic Disorders

RC41.G35 2002 REF
Gale Encyclopedia of Medicine

RT21.G353 2002 REF
Gale Encyclopedia of Nursing & Allied Health

Dictionaries
R121.B598 2006x REF
Black's Medical Dictionary

RC262.A39 2000 REF
The Cancer Dictionary

RT81.5.P69 2006 REF
A Dictionary of Nursing Theory and Research

R121.D73 2007 REF
Dorland's Illustrated Medical Dictionary

R121.M89 2002 REF
Mosby's Medical, Nursing, & Allied Health Dictionary

R121 .S8 2006 REF
Stedman's Medical Dictionary

R121.T18 2005 REF
Taber's Cyclopedic Medical Dictionary

Abbreviations and Acronyms
R123 .J24 2004 REF
Dictionary of Medical Acronyms & Abbreviations

R121.T787 1999 REF
Elsevier's Dictionary of Abbreviations, Acronyms, Synonyms and Symbols Used in Medicine

Diagnostic Manuals
RC71 .C87 2007 REF
Current Medical Diagnosis and Treatment

RB38.2 .S37 2006 STACKS
Davis's Comprehensive Handbook of Laboratory and Diagnostic Tests: With Nursing Implications

RT48.6.C385 2006 STACKS
Handbook of Nursing Diagnosis

RC55.M4 2006 REF
The Merck Manual of Diagnosis and Therapy

RC952.55 .M47 2000 REF
The Merck Manual of Geriatrics

RB38.2.P337 2007 REF
Mosby's Diagnostic and Laboratory Test Reference

RT48.6.N67 2005/06 REF
NANDA Nursing Diagnoses: Definitions & Classification

RB38.2 .K44 2005 REF
Prentice Hall's Handbook of Laboratory & Diagnostic Tests: With Nursing Implications

Drug Guides
RM666.H33 T44 1998 REF
Complete German Commission E Monographs. Therapeutic Guide to Herbal Medicines

RM300 .F33 REF
Drug Facts & Comparisons 2006

RM302.D78 2008 REF
Drug Interaction Facts 2008

RM143 .T74 2007 REF
Handbook of Injectable Drugs

RM315.L54 2006
Handbook of Psychiatric Drugs

RM170.G33 2005 REF
Intravenous Medications: A Handbook for Nurses and Allied Health Professionals

RM301.12.L57 2004 REF
Lippincott's Nursing Drug Guide 2004

RS51.M4 2006 REF
The Merck Index: An Encyclopedia of Chemicals, Drugs, and Biologicals

RM666.H33 S58 2004 REF
Mosby's Handbook of Herbs & Natural Supplements

RM301.12 .M67 2005 REF
Mosby's Nursing Drug Reference 2005

RS164.R676 2003 REF
Medicinal Plants of the World: Chemical Constituents, Traditional, and Modern Medicinal Uses

RM315 .P38 2004 REF
PDR Drug Guide for Mental Health Professionals

RM666 .H33 P37 2004 REF
PDR for Herbal Medicines

RM671.A1 P48 2007 REF
PDR for Nonprescription Drugs and Dietary Supplements

RM302 .P37 2006 REF
PDR Guide to Drug Interactions, Side Effets, and Indications

RM125 .S668 2008 REF
PDR Nurse's Drug Handbook 2006

RS75.P5 2006 REF
Physicians' Desk Reference: PDR

RM301.12 .S737 2006 REF
Springhouse Nurse's Drug Guide 2006

Nursing Theory and Research
RT81.5.P69 2006 REF
A Dictionary of Nursing Theory and Research

RT81.5.E53 2006 REF
Encyclopedia of Nursing Research

RT81.5 .I57 2004 REF
Instruments for Clinical Health-Care Research

RA408.5.M38 1996 REF
Measuring Health: A Guide to Rating Scales and Questionnaires

RT81.5.C533 2004 REF
Resources for Nursing Research: An Annotated Bibliography

Find circulating books on this topic by searching the library catalog under nursing research and nursing theory.

Handbooks
RJ401.A47 2006 REF
2006 Red Book: Report of the Committee on Infectious Diseases

RA643.C65 2000 REF
Control of Communicable Diseases Manual

RT86.54.C835 1996 REF
Culture & Nursing Care: A Pocket Guide

RT51 .S66 2002
Diseases and Disorders: A Nursing Therapeutics Manual

RC473.P78 A46 2000 REF
Handbook of Psychiatric Measures

RJ48.H37 2005
The Harriet Lane Handbook: A Manual for Pediatric House Officers

RC55.L36 2005 REF
Mosby's Handbook of Diseases

RJ245.M67 2004 REF
Mosby's Pediatric Nursing Reference

RA418.5.T73 L37 1995 REF
Multicultural Clients: A Professional Handbook for Health Care Providers and Social Workers

RT65.P69 2005 REF
Professional Guide to Diseases

Atlases
RJ50.A86 2002 REF
Atlas of Pediatric Physical Diagnosis

QM25 2003 REF
McMinn's Color Atlas of Human Anatomy

QM25 .N46 2006 REF
Netter's Atlas of the Human Body

RT41.S96 1996 REF
Photo Atlas of Nursing Procedures

Histories and Biographies
RT34.A44 1988 REF
American Nursing: A Biographical Dictionary

R692.B52 2002 REF
A Biographical Dictionary of Women Healers

R131.C233 1993 REF
The Cambridge World History of Human Disease

R134 .D57 2007 REF
Dictionary of Medical Biography

RT31.S66 1999 REF
Historical Encyclopedia of Nursing

Find circulating books on this topic by searching the library catalog under nurses biography and nursing history.

Medical Ethics
BJ63.E44 1998 REF
Encyclopedia of Applied Ethics

QH332.E52 2003 REF
Encyclopedia of Bioethics

R724.M29287 2001 REF
Medical Ethics

Find circulating books on this topic by searching the library catalog under nursing ethics, medical ethics and bioethics.

Patient Education
RC81 .A543 2004 REF
American Medical Association Family Medical Guide

R125.C674 2002 REF
Cornell Illustrated Encyclopedia of Health

RS51.E85 2006 REF
The Essential Guide to Prescription Drugs 2006

RC81.A2 H75 2000 REF
Human Diseases and Conditions

RM301.12.J636 2005 REF
The Johns Hopkins Consumer Guide to Drugs

RC71.3.J64 2001 REF
The Johns Hopkins Consumer Guide to Medical Tests

RC81 .M473 2003 REF
Mayo Clinic Family Health Book

R 727.4.M4 2003 REF
Measurement Tools in Patient Education

RC81.M535 2003 REF
The Merck Manual of Medical Information (Home ed.)

RT90.C36 2006 REF
Mosby's Handbook of Patient Teaching

RA778 .C2164 2004 REF
New Harvard Guide to Women's Health

RC71.3.S424 2002 REF
The Patient's Guide to Medical Tests

Find circulating books on this topic by searching the library catalog under patient education or medicine popular.

Statistical Sources
RA445.W45 2000 REF
Best of Health: Demographics of Health Care Consumers

RA407.E94 1995 REF
The Cambridge Dictionary of Statistics in the Medical Sciences

RA407.H43 2005 REF
Health at a Glance (OECD)

RA407.5.L3 P18 2002 REF
Health in the Americas

RA407.3.U57 2006 REF
Health, United States 2006

RA410.53.P67 2001 REF
Portrait of Health in the United States

HA202 REF
Statistical Abstract of the United States

RA643 .W33 2003 REF
Statistical Handbook on Infectious Diseases

Internet Guides
RT50.5 .M37 2005 REF
Internet Resource Guide for Nurses and Health Care Professionals

RT50.5.I57 2003 REF
Internet Resources for Nurses

R859.7 .I58 M436 2004 REF
Medical Library Association Encyclopedic Guide to Searching and Finding Health Information on the Web

Writing and Style Manuals
BF76.7.P83 2001 REF
Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association

RT24.Z54 2002 REF
The SMART Way: An Introduction to Writing for Nurses

RT24.B69 1998 REF
Writer's Guide to Nursing and Allied Health Journals

Find circulating books on this topic by searching the library catalog under nursing authorship.

Back to top

FIND BOOKS IN LAVERY LIBRARY AND BEYOND
The key to the library's extensive book collection is the Library Catalog. It may be searched by Author, Title, Subject, or Keyword. Subject headings are established by the Library of Congress. If you have trouble selecting a Subject heading for your topic, try a Keyword search or check the listings in the Library of Congress Subject Headings red books (Z 695 .L69 2001 REF) in the Reference area near the main floor computers.

Subject Headings which may be useful to you for Nursing:

Nurse Practitioners
Nursing Research
Nursing Theory
Community Health Nursing
Family Nursing
Transcultural Nursing

Also, check under specific diseases and organs of the body and other specific topics in Nursing.

If you would like to browse in the Nursing section of the library, the main call letter is R.

Circulating books are all located on the upper level.

Link to the Library Catalog from the library's home page http://library.sjfc.edu

Find books in Other Libraries by selecting Other Libraries from the library's home page.

Search the world for books by selecting WorldCat from the databases listed on the Research Databases web page.

To order a book from another library use the online Interlibrary Loan form, accessible from the library's home page http://library.sjfc.edu.

Back to top

FIND ARTICLES AND MORE
Lavery Library subscribes to an extensive collection of Research Databases that may be used to search for articles on your topic in periodicals, newspapers, and book chapters. Periodicals include both scholarly journals and popular magazines. When researching for courses in your major, it is usually recommended that you use scholarly articles, also referred to as peer reviewed or refereed articles. Databases will often allow you to limit your search to scholarly articles or, in the case of CINAHL, by document type using the term research.

If the article cited on the database that you are using does not appear in full-text on the database, check Periodical Holdings on the library's home page to determine if the periodical is either full-text on another database or available in hard copy in the library's collection.

Research Databases are listed both alphabetically and by subject on the library's home page. When starting research in Nursing, the following databases are recommended:
CINAHL (best Nursing database - start here)
Cochrane Library (evidence-based medicine, full-text)
eHRAF Collection of Ethnography (culture information)
Medline (Medicine)
Harrison's Online (medical textbook)
PsycINFO (Psychology)
Monroe County Library System (Human Resources Directory)

Link to Subject Listing of databases available for Nursing  Nursing, Medicine & Health

Back to top

FIND WEBSITES
When using websites for research it is very important to evaluate their authority and content. Use the following checklist to evaluate sites before using them as references.

Evaluating Web Sites Checklist

Your Nursing liaison librarian has provided a list of quality websites for Nursing. They are available on the library's home page under Selected Websites or Nursing.

To search for additional websites, start with Google - http://www.google.com.

Back to top