College
column spacer
    Lavery Library Spacer Spike Subject Guides Spacer Spike Philosophy

INTRODUCTION

FIND BACKGROUND INFORMATION

SELECTED PRINT REFERENCE SOURCES

FIND BOOKS IN LAVERY LIBRARY AND BEYOND

FIND ARTICLES AND MORE

FIND WEBSITES

INTRODUCTION
This subject guide covers resources for Philosophy.

Back to top

FIND BACKGROUND INFORMATION
Reference Books are located on the Main Level of Lavery Library.

Reference books provide background information to help you understand your topic, narrow your topic, or prepare an outline of your topic. They also help define terms related to your topic, provide assistance in the selection of subject terms for your database searches, and contain factual information, such as, statistics, biographies, and maps.

Back to top

SELECTED PRINT REFERENCES SOURCES:

Encyclopedias

B41 .E5 1996
Encyclopedia of philosophy. Supplement
Borchert, Donald M.

B51 .O94 1995
The Oxford companion to philosophy
Honderich, Ted.

B51 .R68 1998
Routledge encyclopedia of philosophy
Craig, Edward.

B804 .H17 1988
The handbook of Western philosophy
Parkinson, G. H. R.

B5010 .L32 1999
Key concepts in Eastern philosophy
Leaman, Oliver.

Dictionaries

B41 .B53 1994
The Oxford dictionary of philosophy
Blackburn, Simon.

B41 .C35 1999
The Cambridge dictionary of philosophy
Audi, Robert.

B41 .M38 1996
A dictionary of philosophy
Mautner, Thomas.

Biographical Sources

B72 .C595 2001
A companion to the philosophers
Arrington, Robert L.

B104 .B5 1996
Biographical dictionary of twentieth-century philosophers
Brown, Stuart.

Handbooks and Guides

B75 .M37 1990
Masterpieces of world philosophy
Magill, Frank Northen.

Primary Sources

AC1 .G7
Rules for the direction of the mind. Discourse on the method
Descartes, Rene.

AC1 .G7
The philosophy of right
Hegel, Georg Wilhelm Friedrich.

AC1 .G7
The critique of pure reason
Kant, Immanuel.

AC1 .G7
The spirit of laws
Montesquieu, Charles de Secondat..

AC1 .G7
Works
Aristotle.

Back to top

FIND BOOKS AND AUDIOVISUAL IN LAVERY LIBRARY AND BEYOND
The key to the library's extensive book collection is the Library Catalog. It may be searched by Author, Title, Subject, or Keyword. Subject headings are established by the Library of Congress. If you have any trouble selecting a Subject heading for your topic, try a Keyword search or check the listings in the Library of Congress Subject Headings red books (Z 695 .L69 2001 REF) in the Reference area near the main floor computers.

Subject Headings which may be useful to you for Philosophy are:

Philosophy
Philosophy Ancient
Philosophers
Ethics
Metaphysics
Pragmatism
Platonists

If you would like to browse in the stacks the main call numbers for Philosophy are the B's.

Circulating books are all located on the Upper Level. Audiovisual materials are found in the Givens Audiovisual Center on the Lower Level.

Link to the Library Catalog from the library's home page http://library.sjfc.edu

Find materials in Other Libraries by selecting Other Libraries from the library's home page.

Search the world for books by selecting WorldCat from the databases listed on the Research Databases web page.

To order a book from another library use the online Interlibrary Loan form, accessible from the library's home page http://library.sjfc.edu.

FIND ARTICLES AND MORE
Lavery Library subscribes to an extensive collection of Research Databases that may be used to search for articles on your topic in periodicals, newspapers, and book chapters. Periodicals include both scholarly journals and popular magazines. When researching for courses in your major, it is usually recommended that you use scholarly articles, also referred to as peer reviewed or refereed articles. Databases will often allow you to limit your search to scholarly articles.

If the article cited on the database that you are using does not appear in full-text on the database, check Periodical Holdings on the library's home page to determine if the periodical is either full-text on another database or available in hard copy in the library's collection.

Research Databases are listed both alphabetically and by subject on the library's home page. When starting research in Philosophy, the following databases are recommended:

Philosopher's Index
Proquest Research Library
Expanded Academic Index
Wilson Select Plus

Link to Subject Listing of databases available for Humanities and Art

To order articles from another library, use the online Interlibrary Loan Form

Back to top

FIND WEBSITES
When using websites for research it is very important to evaluate their authority and content. Use the following checklist to evaluate sites before using them as references.

Evaluating Web Sites Checklist

Your liaison librarian has provided a list of quality websites for Philosophy. They are available on the library's home page under Internet Resources -- Selected Websites. Select Philosophy.

To search for additional websites, start with Google - http://www.google.com.

Back to top

Melissa Jadlos
Lavery Library