College
column spacer
    Lavery Library Spacer Spike Subject Guides Spacer Spike Psychology

INTRODUCTION

FIND BACKGROUND INFORMATION

SELECTED PRINT REFERENCE SOURCES

FIND BOOKS IN LAVERY LIBRARY AND BEYOND

FIND ARTICLES AND MORE

FIND WEBSITES

INTRODUCTION
The following is a guide to starting research in the field of Psychology. It is not meant to be comprehensive. For additional help in researching Psychology topics, contact the Reference Desk at 385-8141.

Back to top

FIND BACKGROUND INFORMATION
Reference Books are located on the Main Level of Lavery Library.

Reference books provide background information to help you understand your topic, narrow your topic, or prepare an outline of your topic. They also help define terms related to your topic, provide assistance in the selection of subject terms for your database searches, and contain factual information, such as statistics, biographies, and maps.

Back to top

SELECTED PRINT REFERENCES SOURCES:

Encyclopedias
BF31.C66 1994 REF
Companion Encyclopedia of Psychology

BF31.E52 2001 REF
The Corsini Encyclopedia of Psychology and Behavioral Science

BF724.5 .E53 1993 REF
Encyclopedia of Adult Development

BF408.E53 1999 REF
Encyclopedia of Creativity

BF31.E5 1994 REF
Encyclopedia of Human Behavior

BF531.E55 1999 REF
Encyclopedia of Human Emotions

BF431.E59 1994 REF
Encyclopedia of Human Intelligence

BF318.E53 1992 REF
Encyclopedia of Learning and Memory

BF371.N55 2001 REF
Encyclopedia of Memory and Memory Disorders

RC437.E53 1998 REF
Encyclopedia of Mental Health

RC552.E18 C37 2000 REF
The Encyclopedia of Obesity and Eating Disorders

RC437.E49 1996 REF
Encyclopedia of Psychiatry, Psychology, and Psychoanalysis

BF176.E53 2003 REF
Encyclopedia of Psychological Assessment

BF31.E52 2000 REF
Encyclopedia of Psychology

RC514.N63 2000 REF
The Encyclopedia of Schizophrenia and Other Psychotic Disorders

BF1078.E63 1993 REF
Encyclopedia of Sleep and Dreaming

BF575.S75 E52 2000 REF
Encyclopedia of Stress

BF173.F6176 2002 REF
The Freud Encyclopedia: Theory, Therapy, and Culture

BF31.G35 2001 REF
The Gale Encyclopedia of Psychology

Dictionaries
RC437.S76 1994 REF
American Psychiatric Glossary

BF311.B535 1990 REF
The Blackwell Dictionary of Cognitive Psychology

QP360.B577 1996 REF
The Blackwell Dictionary of Neuropsychology

QP360.D52 2001 REF
Dictionary of Biological Psychology

BF31.C33 1999 REF
The Dictionary of Psychology. Cardwell, Mike.

BD31.C65 2001 REF
A Dictionary of Psychology. Colman, Andrew M.

BF31.C72 1999 REF
Dictionary of Psychology. Corsini, Raymond.

HA17.V64 1999 REF
Dictionary of Statistics and Methodology: A Nontechnical Guide for the Social Sciences

BF31.R625 1998 REF
Dictionary of Theories, Laws, and Concepts in Psychology

Handbooks/Directories
RC455.2 .C4 D536 2000 REF
DSM-IV-TR; Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders

BF431.D57 1996 REF
Directory of Unpublished Experimental Mental Measures

RC480.E69 1995 REF
Essential Psychotherapies: Theory and Practice

RJ499.3 .H356 1997 REF
Handbook of Child and Adolescent Psychiatry

BF721.H242 1998 REF
Handbook of Child Psychology

RC455.4 .F3 H35 1994 REF
Handbook of Developmental Family Psychology and Psychopathology

LB1051.H2354 1996 REF
Handbook of Educational Psychology

BF719.H36 1987 REF
Handbook of Infant Development

BF698.H3345 1997 REF
Handbook of Personality Psychology

RC473.P78 A46 2000 REF
Handbook of Psychiatric Measures

BF121.H1955 2003 REF
Handbook of Psychology

HM251.H224 1998 REF
The Handbook of Social Psychology

BF724.55 .A35 H36 1996 REF
Handbook of the Psychology of Aging

RC454.4 .M458 1996 REF
Mental Health Disorders Sourcebook: Basic Information About Schizophrenia, Depression, Bipolar Disorder . . .

BF76.5 .P795 1996 REF
The Psychology Research Handbook: A Guide for Graduate Students and Research Assistants

BF80.3 .V53 2000 REF
Videos in Psychology: A Resource Directory

Biographical Sources
BF109.A1 B56 1997 REF
Biographical Dictionary of Psychology

BF109.A1 N67 REF
A Guide to Psychologists and Their Concepts

BF109.A1 P67 1991 REF
Portraits of Pioneers in Psychology

BF109.A1 W65 1990 REF
Women in Psychology: A Bio-Bibliographic Sourcebook

Research Guides
BF76.5 .D864 1999 Circulating Collection
The Practical Researcher: A Student Guide to Conducting Psychological Research

BF76.8 .S73 1993 REF
The Psychologist's Companion: A Guide to Scientific Writing for Students and Researchers

BF76.5 .P795 1996 REF
The Psychology Research Handbook: A Guide for Graduate Students and Research Assistants

BF76.7 .P83 2001 REF
Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association

BF76.7 .R67 1995 REF
Writing Papers in Psychology: A Student Guide

Test Reviews
GV706.4 .D57 1996 REF
Directory of Psychological Tests in the Sport and Exercise Sciences

BF698.4 .M38 1990 REF
Measures of Personality and Social Psychological Attitudes

BF176.T419 1991 REF
Test Critiques

Careers and Graduate School Information
BF76.C38 1997 Circulating Collection
Career Paths in Psychology: Where Your Degree Can Take You

BF77.G73 2003 REF
Graduate Study in Psychology

BF76.D44 1995 REF
Great Jobs for Psychology Majors

RC467.7 .I57 2002 REF
Insider's Guide to Graduate Programs in Clinical and Counseling Psychology

BF77.S83 2001 Circulating Collection
Succeeding in Graduate School: The Career Guide for Psychology Students

Internet Sites
BF76.6 .I5 K3 1999 REF
Psychology Resources on the World Wide Web

Annual Review of the Literature
BF30.A56 Circulating Collection
Annual Review of Psychology

Thesaurus
Z695.1 .P7 T48 1997 REF
Thesaurus of Psychological Index Terms

Back to top

FIND BOOKS IN LAVERY LIBRARY AND BEYOND
The key to the library's extensive book collection is the Library Catalog. It may be searched by Author, Title, Subject, or Keyword. Subject headings are established by the Library of Congress. If you have any trouble selecting a Subject heading for your topic, try a Keyword search or check the listings in the Library of Congress Subject Headings red books (Z 695 .L69 2001 REF) in the Reference area near the main floor computers.

Subject Headings which may be useful to you for Psychology are:

Adolescent Psychology Gender Identity
Aging - Psychological Aspects Learning, Psychology of
Child Psychology Memory
Cognition Personality
Cognitive Psychology Psychological Tests
Developmental Psychology Psychology and Religion
Dreams Schizophrenia
Eating Disorders Social Psychology
Educational Psychology Stress, Psychological
Emotions Temperament

If you would like to browse in the Psychology section of the library, the main call numbers are B's and RC's.

Circulating materials are all located on the Upper Level.

Link to the Library Catalog from the library's home page http://library.sjfc.edu

Find books in Other Libraries by selecting Other Libraries from the library's home page.

Search the world for books by selecting WorldCat from the databases listed on the Research Databases web page.

To order a book from another library use the online Interlibrary Loan form, accessible from the library's home page http://library.sjfc.edu.

Back to top

FIND ARTICLES AND MORE
Lavery Library subscribes to an extensive collection of Research Databases that may be used to search for articles on your topic in periodicals, newspapers, and book chapters. Periodicals include both scholarly journals and popular magazines. When researching for courses in your major, it is usually recommended that you use scholarly articles, also referred to as peer-reviewed or refereed articles. Databases will often allow you to limit your search to scholarly articles.

If the article cited on the database that you are using does not appear in full-text on the database, check Periodical Holdings on the library's home page to determine if the periodical is either full-text on another database or available in hard copy in the library's collection.

Research Databases are listed both alphabetically and by subject on the library's home page. When starting research in Psychology, the following databases are recommended, in the following order:

PsycINFO
APA PsycInfo
Expanded Academic Index
PA Research II
Mental Measurements

Link to Subject Listing of databases available for  Psychology

Back to top

FIND WEBSITES
When using websites for research it is very important to evaluate their authority and content. Use the following checklist to evaluate sites before using them as references.

Evaluating Web Sites Checklist

Your Psychology liaison librarian has provided a list of quality websites for Psychology. They are available on the library's home page under Selected Websites or Psychology.

To search for additional websites, start with Google - http://www.google.com.

Back to top

Marianne Simmons
Lavery Library