|
INTRODUCTION
FIND BACKGROUND INFORMATION
SELECTED PRINT REFERENCE SOURCES
FIND BOOKS IN LAVERY LIBRARY AND BEYOND
FIND ARTICLES AND MORE
FIND WEBSITES
INTRODUCTION
This subject guide covers Religious Studies resources.
FIND BACKGROUND INFORMATION
Reference Books are located on the Main Level of Lavery Library.
Reference books provide background information to help you understand your topic, narrow your topic, or prepare an outline of your topic. They also help define terms related to your topic, provide assistance in the selection of subject terms for your database searches, and contain factual information, such as, statistics, biographies, and maps.
SELECTED PRINT REFERENCES SOURCES:
Encyclopedias
B5010 .L32 1999
Key concepts in Eastern philosophy
Leaman, Oliver
BL31 .E46 1986
The Encyclopedia of religion
Eliade, Mircea
BL31 .M47 1999
Merriam-Webster's encyclopedia of world religions
Doniger, Wendy
BL2462.5 .E53 2001
The Encyclopedia of African and African-American religions
Glazier, Stephen D.
BL2525 .L49 1998
The Encyclopedia of cults, sects, and new religions
Lewis, James R.
BL2525 .Q44 2001
Encyclopedia of American religious history
Queen, Edward L.
BX8605.5 .E62 1992
Encyclopedia of Mormonism
Ludlow, Daniel H.
E98.R3 H73 2000
Encyclopedia of Native American religions: an introduction
Hirschfelder, Arlene B.
Christianity
BX841 .N44 2003
New Catholic encyclopedia (2nd edition)
Catholic University of America
N7830 .M87 1996
The Oxford companion to Christian art and architecture
Murray, Peter
Islam
DS35.53 .O95 1995
The Oxford encyclopedia of the modern Islamic world
Esposito, John L.
DS37 .E523 1960
The Encyclopaedia of Islam
Gibb, H. A. R.
Judaism
BM50 .E63 1999
The Encyclopedia of Judaism
Neusner, Jacob
BM50 .E63 1989
The Encyclopedia of Judaism
Wigoder, Geoffrey
Dictionaries
BD215 .L3 1994
Larousse dictionary of beliefs and religions
BL31 .H37 1995
The HarperCollins dictionary of religion
Smith, Jonathan Z.
BM50 .O94 1997
The Oxford dictionary of the Jewish religion
Werblowsky, R. J. Zwi
BR95 .O8 1997
The Oxford dictionary of the Christian Church
Cross, F. L.
Atlases
G1201 .E4 C3 2000
The Routledge historical atlas of religion in America
Carroll, Bret E.
G1201.E4 N4 2000
New historical atlas of religion in America
Gaustad, Edwin S.
G2206.S1 F7 1993
Historical atlas of the Middle East
Freeman-Grenville, G. S. P.
G2230 .H47 1987
The Harper atlas of the Bible
Pritchard, James Bennett
Biographical Sources
BL2525 .B45 1998
Encyclopedia of American women and religion
Benowitz, June Melby
BL2525 .M448 1986
Biographical dictionary of American cult and sect leaders
Melton, J. Gordon
BL2525 .T84 1989
Twentieth-century shapers of American popular religion
Lippy, Charles H
BX4654 .B8 1985
Butler's Lives of the saints
Butler, Alban
BX4656.5 .S26 1996
The directory of saints: a concise guide to patron saints
Sandoval, Annette
Handbooks and Guides
BL65 .P7 S76 2002
Religion and politics: a reference handbook
Storey, John W.
BL2428 .A53 2002
The ancient gods speak: a guide to Egyptian religion
Redford, Donald B.
BL2525 .M425 2001
Handbook of denominations in the United States
Mead, Frank Spencer
BP67.A1 I82 1992
Islam in North America: a sourcebook
Koszegi, Michael A.
FIND BOOKS AND AUDIOVISUAL IN LAVERY LIBRARY AND BEYOND
The key to the library's extensive book collection is the Library Catalog. It may be searched by Author, Title, Subject, or Keyword. Subject headings are established by the Library of Congress. If you have any trouble selecting a Subject heading for your topic, try a Keyword search or check the listings in the Library of Congress Subject Headings red books (Z 695 .L69 2001 REF) in the Reference area near the main floor computers.
Subject Headings which may be useful to you for Religious Studies are:
Religion
Christian Denominations
Christianity
Doctrines
Doctrines Islam; Doctrines Jainism, etc.
Holiness
Islam
Judaism
Myth
Ritual
Sacred Books
Sacred Books Hinduism; Sacred Books Buddhism, etc.
Shinto
Shamans
Symbolism
If you would like to browse in the stacks the main call numbers are B's.
Circulating books are all located on the Upper Level.
Audiovisual materials are found in the Givens Audiovisual Center on the Lower Level.
Link to the Library Catalog from the library's home page http://library.sjfc.edu
Find books in Other Libraries by selecting Other Libraries from the library's home page.
Search the world for books by selecting WorldCat from the databases listed on the Research Databases web page.
To order a book from another library use the online Interlibrary Loan form, accessible from the library's home page http://library.sjfc.edu.
Selected Circulating Print Sources:
BL80.2 .C334 2002
The Cambridge illustrated history of religions
Bowker, John Westerdale
BL80.2 .S645 1991
The world's religions: our great wisdom traditions
Smith, Huston
BL80.2 .Y68 1995
The world's religions: worldviews and contemporary issues
Young, William A.
BL85 .A7 1999
Atlas of the world's religions
Smart, Ninian
BL85 .S25 2000
Spirituality and world religions: a comparative introduction
Saint-Laurent, George E.
BL458 .F455 1999
Feminism and world religions
Sharma, Arvind
BL600 .R37 1999
Ritual and religion in the making of humanity
Rappaport, Roy A.
BL624 .H3445 2003
A walk with four spiritual guides: Krishna, Buddha, Jesus, and Ramakrishna
Harvey, Andrew
BP109 1997
The meaning of the Holy Quran
Ali, Abdullah Yusuf
GN470 .A55 1997
Anthropology of religion: a handbook
Glazier, Stephen D.
Selected Circulating Audiovisual Materials:
BL80.2.L64
Catholicism [videorecording] : Rome, Leeds and the desert
Montagnon, Peter
BL80.2.L64
Islam [videorecording] : there is no God but God
Montagnon, Peter
BL80.2.L64
Taoism [videorecording] : a question of balance : China
Montagnon, Peter
BL80.2 .R455 1998
Religions of the world [videorecording]
Kingsley, Ben
BL80.2 .R445 1999
Religious experience [videorecording] : Buddhism
Simmons, John K.
BL458.W65 1995
Women serving religion [videorecording]
Pethe, Gary
BL1202 .H5 1999
Hinduism [videorecording]: an introduction
Films for the Humanities & Sciences
BL1802 .R43 2001
Religions of China [videorecording]
Kung, Hans
BR563 .N4 W513 2003
This far by faith [videorecording] : African American spiritual journeys
Cross, June
FIND ARTICLES AND MORE
Lavery Library subscribes to an extensive collection of Research Databases that may be used to search for articles on your topic in periodicals, newspapers, and book chapters. Periodicals include both scholarly journals and popular magazines. When researching for courses in your major, it is usually recommended that you use scholarly articles, also referred to as peer reviewed or refereed articles. Databases will often allow you to limit your search to scholarly articles.
If the article cited on the database that you are using does not appear in full-text on the database, check Periodical Holdings on the library's home page to determine if the periodical is either full-text on another database or available in hard copy in the library's collection.
Research Databases are listed both alphabetically and by subject on the library's home page. When starting research in Religion, the following databases are recommended:
Religious Periodicals
Expanded Academic Index
Wilson Select Plus
Link to Subject Listing of databases available for Humanities and Art
To order articles from another library, use the online Interlibrary Loan Form
FIND WEBSITES
When using websites for research it is very important to evaluate their authority and content. Use the following checklist to evaluate sites before using them as references.
Evaluating Web Sites Checklist
Your liaison librarian has provided a list of quality websites for Religious Studies. They are available on the library's home page under Selected Websites
select Religion.
To search for additional websites, start with Google - http://www.google.com.
|
Marianne Simmons
|
Lavery Library
|
|
|